Cross Or Crack

6 Dec

I was planning on doing the final cyclocross race of the season at the Draper Equestrian Center today even though I suck at cross, seriously, I’m Mr. DFL.

That being said, I try to do a couple of them every year as they always serve me a nice slice of humble pie. As much as I don’t like humble pie I think it’s good to eat every once in a while.

However, I got the call this morning about doing a mountain bike ride instead of the cross race. The mountain bike ride would consist of one of, if not, the best loops in the Salt Lake Valley (Clark’s trail to Crack Cocaine loop) along with some of my favorite riding buddies.

The cross race would be in my backyard as well but would only consist of about 50 minutes of suffering followed by about 15 minutes of exercised induced asthma. What to do?

Duh! Crack beats Cross every time.

I still can’t believe that a loop of this quality is literally in my backyard, as in I hop on the single track in my backyard and go. Unbelievable!

My backyard:

img_16241

vista1

Some DH with dug about to launch:

dug11

and Elden bailing on the launch:

elden11

We finished the ride with a duel:

shootoff1

I won the camera duel. Elden eventually dropped his camera and ran off like a small child.

And a few more pics from dug:

brad-kenny-barrel-rolling1 brad-finishes-upper-downhill1 brad-dropping-ramp brad-finishes-lower-downhill1

Not a bad day of December biking at 6000′ in Utah.

10 Responses to “Cross Or Crack”

  1. dug December 6, 2008 at 9:03 pm #

    he ran off like a small child? damn, i always miss the good stuff.

  2. KanyonKris December 6, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    DFL? And I still believe in Santa Clause too.

    Quite the coincidence running into you right at the trail junction there in Maple Hollow after I finished my run down Crack. It was nice to ride with (within a few hundred yards) you for the BST stretch. Fantastic day for a ride, especially since it’s supposed to be a frozen snowbound wasteland right now.

    The cross race was fun, but I agree, I’d rather ride trails – and today I got both, sweet!

  3. Bill Martin December 7, 2008 at 9:51 am #

    OMG This looks like so much fun this time of year. I think I will do the same here in Missoula. Getting on the phone to some friends right now.

  4. Eric December 7, 2008 at 1:15 pm #

    Bad Choice

  5. Rick S. December 7, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    My wife keeps hoping it will snow soon so I can finally get some stuff done around the house on a Sat.

  6. KanyonKris December 7, 2008 at 7:25 pm #

    This extended biking season has been great. Is there some holiday coming up?

  7. brkeyes7 December 7, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    KK-There are no coincidences. You ran into me for a reason.

    Bill-I hope you are coming down for the Gooseberry 100k.

    Eric-I need some coaching for cross. Next year I’ll be looking for your help cause, really, I suck bad.

    Rick-Whatever. I guess she’s forgotten all about back country skiing. Poor Rochelle.

  8. Bob December 7, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    Here is coaching advice for cross, Start fast, stay on a wheel, pass when you can, don’t wreck, suffer and suffer some more. Oh yeah, when some sort of barrier comes up, hop it or get off and run it.

    similar to my philosophy on life, except the suffering.

    Cross can be crack, really.

  9. KanyonKris December 8, 2008 at 2:39 pm #

    Now I’m left to wonder what the reason for our meeting was. Serendipity, if nothing else.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MTBikeAZ.com » Crack - BST - Clarks - October 1, 2009

    […] this loop reading CarboRocket’s very own Brad Keyes’ blog. He raved about it in this post and linked to another local rider’s blog, Rick Sunderlage (not his real name), who gets the […]

Leave a comment