2010 And Beyond

8 Jan

I tried really hard to take a month off from posting anything on the interweb.   I guess I cheated if you count tweeting and facebook.  I thought it would be cleansing and renewing but its left me feeling slightly constipated instead.

2009 is over and all I have to say about that is if you haven’t seen District 9 well, then, you really haven’t finished your 2009. Seriously, you need to see that movie before 2010 can officially start.

Twenty Ten has a nice ring to it so I’d like to make it extra special. I’m still trying to figure out the details but have a few things on my mind. For one, I plan on becoming a triathlete in 2010. Not your normal triathlete mind you. I think there are a few too many geeks in triathlon *edit-none that I know of course* and pretty much zero dorks so I am committing to becoming a triathlon dork in 2010. I addition to racing triathlons on a single speed I plan on bringing back the Speedo. Triathlon just hasn’t been the same since men stopped wearing the Speedo. And really, who needs goggles for the swim?

Back to my real passion, mountain biking. I plan on doing a handful of ICUP’s and I’ll throw in as many 12 hour and 100 milers as possible. 12 Hours of Mesa Verde sounds cool as well as the 12 hous of Temecula.  My focus for 2010 will be the Butte 100 with my final push of the season being the Park City Point 2 Point, 2 of the best races anywhere! If I’m flush and feeling good I may try to do La Ruta, I’ve dreamt about that one for years.

You’ll notice I didn’t mention anything about 24 hour races or Leadville.  Until they figure out how to get rid of the riding between 12 am and 6 am I am protesting 24 hour races and I can pay for most of the years entry fees for what they want at Leadville this year.

Yes, 2010 will be a good year.  See you on the trails and on the road and maybe in the pool…nah, not the pool.

19 Responses to “2010 And Beyond”

  1. mtb w January 8, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Yep, Leadville’s taken the Lance effect to heart, raising fees to pro levels. The PCP2P is cool though, getting attention here in Colorado too.

    • brkeyes7 January 8, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

      5 times is enough. Fun and all but it feels like its time has come and gone. Never gonna be like the old days.

  2. KanyonKris January 8, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I’ve dabbled in Tri, and for me 1-2 a year is fun.

    You might like the Snowbasin Xterra – swim in a lake, mountain bike on dirt, trail run. I considered it in 2009, maybe 2010.

    I’ve done the Salem Spring Tri twice and liked it. Swimming in Salem pond was good, the bike and run courses were nice. And it had a good, fun vibe.

    Yeah, no swim training for me. At a pool with the kids I made sure I could at least swim the distance. I didn’t get far with the forward crawl then switched to backstroke. I got through it.

  3. bob January 8, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    tri geek.

    I will miss the regular ass kickings this year.

    • brkeyes7 January 8, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

      I’ve got a special jersey made up just for you.

  4. t-bone January 9, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    dude the 12am – 6am part that is easy, you just need me to do that leg.
    word!

    • brkeyes7 January 9, 2010 at 11:57 am #

      Aren’t you retired from racing? Is that what its going to take to get you out? I’ll remember that come October.

  5. Brad Sneed January 9, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    District nine was very cool, not what I thought it was going to be. I’m excited about 2010, new Vassago single speed bike, and going to focus on a few more endurance type races although I will make 6-7 intermountain cup races. just to keep things fresh I want to do 2 or 3 x-terra races, I think the cross training will help my overall conditioning. Point2point will also be my crowning jewel of the year, loved it last year, might ry to pull it off on the jabberwocky…we will see.

  6. Karl January 9, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Temecula? You planning to do it this month?
    See you at Brighton tomorrow? I’ll have a pass waiting.

    • brkeyes7 January 9, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

      I was until I noticed it was same week as Camp Lynda 3.0 3 days of biking for half the driving.

  7. t-bone January 9, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    i’m always ready to throw down when it comes to it!
    you say jump i say how hi!
    word!

    • brkeyes7 January 10, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      I’m gonna hold you to that.

  8. jruss January 11, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Thank you for at least not committing to be a triathAlete. That is an entirely different class of tri-geek (the kind that rock the bend over bars and aero helmets while making a PR on their way home from work).
    There is a good chance I might bump into you in Butte. Just sayin.

    • brkeyes7 January 11, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

      I think triflelete will describe me best.

  9. Fred January 11, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Hey Brad,
    Happy 2010!
    Have you come across anything about the Moab Rim Ride in 2010?
    thanks,
    fp

    • brkeyes7 January 11, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

      Not yet but if and when I do I’ll let you know. I really need to do that this year, good early season monster death ride in the desert.

  10. fish January 13, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    What tri’s are you going to do this year? Welcome to the dark side. Embrace the geek.

    • brkeyes7 January 13, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

      I’m embracing the dork and I think I’ll do an xterra an oly and a half. All in Utah not sure which ones yet, suggestions?

      • fish January 14, 2010 at 8:50 am #

        The only half in Utah is the Utah Half, it’s at the end of August this year. As for oly’s, I really like the job the triutah.com guys do with their races. I’ve never done an x-terra.

Leave a comment