I Need To Work On My Transitions

23 Jun

In spite of the fact that I haven’t done a triathalon for several years, Saturday morning found me feeling pretty good about placing well at Fatty’s inaugural tri. I had the usual butterflies and stomach issues that I get before any race.

At the start I was eying the competition and checking out the quads of my fellow racers for any potential carrots to chase.

I marked a few and then worked on my race strategy for the remaining minutes before the start. my usual plan is take it out hard and try to demoralize the competition but Saturday was an especially hot day and I knew the race was going to be long so I practiced restraint and started out towards the back of the pack.

My strategy was working great untill I hit the first transition, sliding rock. I’m pretty sure I can blame my poor overall placing on my transition time at the slide. I must have lost half an hour or more there.

I pretty much gave up after that and limped it to the finish line.

A huge thanks to Fish and Fatty for throwing such a good a party complete with killer food, a live DJ and a raffle. The biggest thanks goes to Susan for sharing her Saturday with us. I have a feeling this will be an annual festival.

11 Responses to “I Need To Work On My Transitions”

  1. IamMatt June 23, 2008 at 8:34 am #

    I would hope that it becomes an annual thing. It was truly a great time. And I don’t think your post is quite right. I recall you blowing by me clost to the top of Clarks/rally spot. You were “the lone rider” after that one might say.

  2. Tony June 23, 2008 at 8:45 am #

    I’ll 2nd the thanks to Fatty and fish for the post ride party. Every ride should end like that. Friends, diet coke and mmmmm, those Bar-BQ brats.

  3. je June 23, 2008 at 8:45 am #

    I see the flaw in your execution — no aero helmet!

  4. KanyonKris June 23, 2008 at 8:51 am #

    Thanks for the push up Hog Hollow – it encourage me to stop foolishly thinking this was just a fun ride and to dig deep and fight off the many challengers nipping at my heels.

    And thank you for trail markings (usually lines of rocks) you installed at any junction that might cause confusion.

  5. dug June 23, 2008 at 9:05 am #

    is that kendra? she’s rockin the slide.

  6. Grizzly Adam June 23, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    A ride without Brats and a water slide will just not be the same.

  7. Rick S. June 23, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    Brad- Turns out, CarboRocket with Brats is a great combination.

  8. chtrich June 23, 2008 at 1:49 pm #

    Thanks for the Carbo Rocket samples. That was good stuff.

  9. brkeyes7 June 23, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    je- I left the aero helmet sitting in the garage. it woulda made all the difference on sliding rock.

    Rick S.-Fish actually boiled the brats in CaroRocket. Why do you think they were so good.

  10. mocougfan June 24, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    Brad…I wanted to add my thanks for the Carbo Rocket as well. It was good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fat Cyclist » Blog Archive » I Am The Best Event Organizer In the Whole World - June 24, 2008

    […] Brad […]

Leave a comment