Heat Training

28 Jun

I don’t do well in the heat. I’ve suffered from heat exhaustion on more than one occasion and even ended up in the ER after the Brian Head 100 one year. So, I always try to do some training in the heat to hopefully acclimatize before a big race, I’m thinking the Park City Perfect 10. What better way than a 5 hour ride starting at Noon in the middle of summer?

The family has gone to the Grand Canyon yet again this year and I stayed home. I did however, ride to Spanish Fork Canyon with them to pick up Kendra from camp and then I bid them farewell as they motored on to St. George and I pedaled home.

I do not know my way around Utah Valley very well and wasn’t sure how to find my way to Provo. I figured if I could get to Provo I could make it home. It turns out I’m either a human GPS or Utah Valley isn’t too complicated. I prefer the former. Within 45 minutes I found myself turning down 500 N in Provo to stop for a pee break at Racer’s.

I was pleasantly surprised to find both Racer and Maren working on a Saturday. To be honest, I’m not sure if either of them was working. Racer was busy building a bike for Maren and Maren was busy picking out color coordinated grips and cages. I couldn’t help myself and offered them my valuable fashion advice.

I then made the mistake of asking Racer if he wanted to join me for a ride around the Alpine Loop. I say mistake because I wasn’t expecting him to say, “yeah, give me 15 minutes to finish Maren’s bike” and then take an hour and a half to pedal out of the shop with me.

I’ve climbed pretty much every canyon along the Wasatch Front multiple times and I have to say the Sundance side of the Alpine Loop is hands down the best. It’s steep, very steep, long, twisty, painful, scenic and has a rhythm to it that I haven’t found in any other canyon climb. I love it! Did I mention that it’s painful?

Racer went down the AF side with me and then he split off and headed back across the front of Timp where I’m sure he stopped to refuel at Fish’s house as I pedaled alone through Alpine and over Traverse back home.

I’m pretty sure I may be the only person to get Racer out on a big ride in a very long time.  I think he enjoyed it. 

Mark from up in Boise who is down on vacation recognized me limping through Alpine and stopped to see how I was doing as I was heading home. Pretty cooked and starting to melt is how I was doing.

One big heat ride down and I’m feeling good, embracing the heat.

OMG! I just typed 500 words. What’s wrong with me? Oh yeah, my family is out of town.

7 Responses to “Heat Training”

  1. Flahute June 29, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    Good thing you had that CarboRocket to keep you fueled and hydrated, huh?

  2. Bob June 29, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    Liar.

  3. Bob June 29, 2008 at 5:41 pm #

    What i meant to say…

    I thought YOU were going out of town, now i hear there was a BK spotting on PC.

  4. brkeyes7 June 29, 2008 at 6:03 pm #

    Flahute-Of course! Maybe a gallon of it on Saturday.

    Bob-I’ll see you at Solitude, guns blazing.

  5. Flahute June 30, 2008 at 5:31 am #

    Well, it’s definitely keeping me going … I struggled a bit on Wasatch on Saturday (starting at 12:30 can do that), but managed to stay hydrated enough that I actually felt better on Sunday than Saturday … and completed my first climb of Emigration this season.

    I know it’s the easiest canyon we have, but it still hurts a non-climber.

    How are the new flavors coming?

  6. Jonnie June 30, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Brad – Gotta tell you that whatever the secret sauce is in the Carbo Rocket it has fixed my cramping problem on the long hot rides. I had a great day in the saddle up in Logan at the MS 150. I can’t remember the last time I did a century and didn’t cramp up. Loving the Carbo Rocket!

    Jon

  7. Flahute June 30, 2008 at 5:38 pm #

    AAARGH! Revolution is out of Kiwi-Lime!

Leave a Reply

