Moab Rim Ride

12 Mar

I was so excited to do the Moab Rim Ride at the end of the month but sadly can’t make it happen. So, I thought I’d go down the weekend before and do it. If anybody has a scheduling conflict with the original date or just wants some long hours in on the bike come down and join me on the 22nd.

I stole this pic from Dave H.

moabrim.jpg

No rules. I plan on stashing water and some fried chicken at about the 6 hour mark off the upper road to Gemini Bridges the night before so I don’t die like Kenny almost did last year. I’ll be leaving the park at 6 a.m. in the morning on Saturday. I’ll have a GPS with some of the trail tracked but not all of it.

It’ll be fun and painful and surely one of the epic rides of 2008. I really have no idea what to expect so it’ll prolly end up being a good story. You don’t want to miss out on that do you?

11 Responses to “Moab Rim Ride”

  1. dug March 12, 2008 at 9:30 am #

    happy to miss out on the ride. it’s the story after i don’t want to miss out on.

  2. UltraRob March 12, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    I’m still so out of shape that I’m sure I couldn’t do the Rim in a day. I’ll actually be getting into Moab on that Sunday to work on my fitness for a few days. One of these days I’ll be fit again and doing epics.

  3. brkeyes7 March 12, 2008 at 12:23 pm #

    dug-The story is always more entertaining when you’re involved.

    Rob-I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to do it either but I’m gonna give it a try and see how far I get.

  4. KanyonKris March 12, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    Good luck, Brad! The Rim RIde is too burly for me.

  5. sly March 12, 2008 at 10:50 pm #

    im going down tomorrow to ride slow.

    http://bikehusla.blogspot.com/2007/03/i-saw-climb-um-susy-in-moab.html

  6. Brad Mullen March 13, 2008 at 8:34 pm #

    I may be goin down Saturday morning with Chris Holley. We’re plan on starting at 191 Gemini TH and doing the blue dot, Gold Bar, PS, Pot Ash Road back to the GTH loop. I did the middle 6 hours last year two weeks b4 the race and decided it was too much for me. Hat’s off to those that finish this bugger.

  7. sly March 13, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    go wash it and see, after all i have seen myself, 3 weeks of cleaning, and evidence of the 100’s of other people i’ve seen, after 4 or 5 weeks of cleaning. after all the white flour in the american diet. i can see you dont know what you are talking about. read up and get back to me.

  8. sly March 13, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    graphic link, dont open if you dont want to be grossed out.

    http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&q=colon+matter&gbv=2

    check that out and get back to me.

  9. wunnspeed March 14, 2008 at 7:05 am #

    Wow… would love to go on that one.

  10. kenny March 14, 2008 at 8:29 am #

    It’s looking more like the 29th. might not work for me either. I’ll most likely come ride it with you. I’ve order some gps files for 7 mile canyon and metal masher. I should be able to put together the whole ride on my garmin.

  11. brkeyes7 March 14, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    kenny-Looking forward to even more now.

Leave a comment