ChiCrossCup #2 (DeKalb) and #3 (Dan Ryan Woods)

11 Oct

My first race of the day last week at ChiCrossCup #2 (Masters 40+) went off at 8:45. Strategy was simple, go as hard as possible and see what happens.   While the hole shot and first lap victory were my reward, 6 laps were far too many for that strategy to work.  I faded fast and finished 11th.

All photos thanks to Amy Dykema aka Velogrrl.

The second race of the day for me, OUISSSCXC didn’t start until 4:15, no wonder the family didn’t want to come out.  But as you can see below, it was well worth the wait.  With so much on the line for the winner, all the fast dudes showed up.

Including this guy.

Hay Straw bales!

Hay Straw bales should be mandatory features in all categories at cyclocross races, let the petition drive begin!

I got 6th in race #2 of the day but more importantly James Lalonde won.  What does that mean? That Chicago will be well represented at the 2011 SSWCXC. No pressure James.

Huge thanks to Half Acre Cycling, North Central Cyclery, ChiCrossCup and Robots Powered by Love – they put on a stellar race and the course was my favorite of the season until this past weekend.

ChiCrossCup #3 – I wasn’t prepared to like Sunday’s course with lots of flat, straight, grassy, power sections, but there were enough climby, off-camber, techy sections to more than make up for it.  Bonus points for the giant log in the middle of the course, just big enough to scare 95% of the racers into getting off their bike but not so tall as to intimidate like a regulation barrier.  My favorite CX course so far this year, will be very hard to top.

Wait for it, wait for it…Money!

My strategy was to not go out as hard as last week and to hopefully ride with the lead group for as long as possible leaving enough in the tank to finish well.  Problem was, backing off just hair at the start of a CCC race doesn’t mean just a few people get in front of you it means 25-30 racers get in front of you.  Chase on!

Not starting at the front resulted in my best CCC placing ever, 6th out of 70+ registered.  Note to self: new strategy needs to be somewhere in-between the two previous strategies.

Big thanks to Beverly Bike-Vee Pak and Region Racing for all their work and especially for the free spicy chicken!

4 Responses to “ChiCrossCup #2 (DeKalb) and #3 (Dan Ryan Woods)”

  1. Andy October 11, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    These are straw bales…not hay bales. Hay is green and too valuable to waste on something like that. Straw is yellow and the the leftover stalk from wheat, barley, etc. Sorry, I was raised on a farm.

    • brkeyes7 October 11, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      Yay for straw bales! I don’t think it’s too late to change the petition.

  2. ampersandoutdoor October 12, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Hey – I’ve got a poprad frame with a dented seatstay that you can have if’n you want (I’m betting there’s a frame builder who could fix what ails it for a hundo or two in big ol badass chi town). Unless the Fuji frame is fulfilling your dreams… I’ll go out on a limb and guess that that Fuji is not fulfilling your dreams.

    Arthur

    • brkeyes7 October 13, 2011 at 4:56 am #

      Very generous of you Art, thanks! Already got a new frame I’m building up though, it’s pretty sweet. On another note, CR needs some CX reps out West and I know someone with a couple extra skinsuits, just sayin.

Leave a comment