WORS Alterra Race Report

31 Aug

I’m up to 3 races now in the Midwest each in a different state.  They all share two things in common, lots of tight twisty single track and hot, wet heat.  I’m slowly but surely acclimating.

I Finally got a WORS series race under my belt and it did not disappoint.  It was the Alterra Coffee Bean Classic at Crystal Ridge, Wisconsin.

WORS puts on a well organized, professional race. ICUP ain’t too far behind though.  In the bang for buck category WORS wins hands down with bigger turnout, just as stiff competition, equally great venues and medals for everyone on the podium all for a measly $25.

This was the first race with some serious climbs, steep enough to hurt but not long enough to get much distance on anyone.  Alterra offered up the twistiest, tightest and most single track of the 3 races I’ve done.  My single track skills are progressing but not once in the 3 races I’ve done have I ever felt like I was in any sort of rhythm.  I did however, pass way more racers in the one track than passed me.  Progress.

Alterra was also the hottest, by far, of the 3 races.  More CR before the race was key to feeling great the entire race with no fade. Or it might have been Half Acre riders Jen and Paul-Brian cheering and dumping ice water on me. There were 19 in my 40+ category and I ended up 5th.  I’ll take it but think I could have moved up a couple places just by getting to the front before hitting the single track.

The Pro Men’s podium.  Guerra 1st, Braun 2nd and Matter 3rd.

Any good race day is not complete without some good food.  All road trips that pass through Wisconsin now require a mandatory stop, the Mars Cheese Castle.  A little bit of kitsch and a whole lot of killer sandwiches.  Try the 3-cheese and tomato grilled cheese.

Thursday I fly to Salt Lake to ride the Park City Point 2 Point and fill racer’s water bottles with CR.  Yes, I said ride.

4 Responses to “WORS Alterra Race Report”

  1. dug August 31, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    “Yes, I said ride.”

    whatever. if you’re serious, then line up with me in the 10+ area.

  2. Blackdog August 31, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    That hair. You move to the midwest and become a hair farmer?

    • brkeyes7 August 31, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      Hair farmer. I like it. Gonna be a hair farmer.

  3. jeff September 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    any run ins with tics or chiggers?

Leave a Reply

