Trophy Garage

27 Jul

Being mountain starved makes every bike outing a hunt.  I’ve been riding all over the city trying to find a good climb and came across these towers. I pedaled around them a few times and then asked the security dude if I could have a look, he just shook his head no and walked away patting his taser. I’ll be back with donuts.

I did find a garage a couple blocks away with no apparent security and 12 levels of parking spaces.  The first 2 levels were pretty steep leading up to the main parking area.  After tentatively riding to the top, not sure if I was going to get tasered, I headed back down confident I had found a decent mountain and looked forward to pushing it hard on the 2nd effort.

With separate entrances and exits I needed to exit the garage before climb #2.  As I approached the arm blocking the exit flashing lights and sirens started going off.  I was sure I had just won a special prize for being the first to bicycle to the top of the garage.  Instead of waiting around for the prize I decided to reward myself with a dip in lake Michigan.  There’s a good reason all those swimmers I’d seen earlier were wearing wetsuits.

12 Responses to “Trophy Garage”

  1. dug July 27, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    did you self-time that picture? how many takes?

    • brkeyes7 July 28, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      Yes and I lost count. After the first dive I was numb so I just kept going til I got it right.

  2. KanyonKris July 27, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    You need a new Chicago-appropriate hobby. How about racketeering?

  3. Scott Rosenbaum July 28, 2010 at 5:10 am #

    Moved from Northern Idaho to Minnesota, I feel your pain. The only thing I found was a two part option, hit the stairs for power and shave your legs and get a road bike.

    Good luck on your quest.

    • mark July 28, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      I think Scott’s on to something here. I’d imagine there’s a pretty robust crit racing scene in Chicago. Some hard efforts on the flats will no doubt keep your power output nice and high.

      • brkeyes7 July 28, 2010 at 10:33 am #

        I’m thinking I’ll be coming down with a case of roadie soon.

        • bob July 29, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

          DON’T DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Bill Martin July 28, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Brad, you are like a fish out of water. I hope you find some water soon or you will die…o/o

    • brkeyes7 July 28, 2010 at 10:35 am #

      Dude, I’m parched! I think a cold smoke could cure my thirst.

  5. Daren July 29, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Brad, Glen Adams lived in the building in your first picture in 1992. I’m not sure even he got to climb the parking garage.

  6. Ag July 29, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Dude I was just there. No kidding. I could see that garage out my hotel room window. I like your spirit- keep up the search

Leave a Reply

