Mountain Hunter

23 Jul

I can’t afford to be a purist here in the Midwest I’ll take my mountains any way I can get them, natural or man made. I’m determined not to lose my climbing legs and in order to accomplish that I need to climb a mountain on a weekly basis. I started my hunt with a visit to Kozy’s Cyclery donwtown on Erie St.

While Brant was a huge help in pointing me towards Calumet Fisheries and Three Floyds he wasn’t sure about any mountains to be had in the area.

After a little recon I spied what may be the tallest parking garage I’ve ever seen, 21-22 stories tall of 100% parking space. It must be 300 feet tall, 5-10 laps up this baby ought to satisfy any mountain climber.

I couldn’t pull the trigger though. Turns out it’s an elevator parking garage, requiring the push of a button to move between floors in your car and impossible to cycle. The hunt continues.

6 Responses to “Mountain Hunter”

  1. Andy July 23, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I’m looking as well…

    http://www.cyclingforums.com/cycling-training/368646-hills-near-chicago.html

  2. Rick S. July 24, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    You are sick. Good luck with the hunt.

  3. mark July 27, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    My advice: find the best brewery you can and drink as much as possible, filling the void between beers with Chicago dogs and deep dish pizza. Two months of that and riding over a bridge will feel like the north side of Suncrest.

Leave a Reply

