Bike Chicago

14 Jul

I have to admit that one of my biggest fears about moving to Chicago was the lack of any mountains. Now that I’ve been here for a week and a half I am adding hills, inclines and lack of any change in elevation at all to that list. This place is as flat as a pancake for miles and miles in any direction.

I’m not complaining, it turns out that the lack of mountains and hills isn’t necessarily a bad thing. There happens to be miles and miles of pavement. Really technical, obstacle strewn pavement no less. I’m thinking this might be the next Fall Moab destination.

9 Responses to “Bike Chicago”

  1. Bill Martin July 14, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Ouch dude…o/o

  2. Derron T. July 14, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    I’ve heard that Chicago can get a bit…shall we say…”Windy”? Hence the nickname, “the windy city”. You can use the wind as your hill repeats. Ride against it for a few miles and then turn around and ride the other way for your recovery periods. Your new nickname could be “the Chicago Wind Climber”.

    • brkeyes7 July 15, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      I guess I’ll look forward to the wind then.

  3. dug July 15, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    i think i could clean that.

  4. Zach July 15, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Brad, I saw that you moved to Chicago. That is where Sara and I moved from 3 years ago. Let me know if you are interested in me setting you up with some guides to show you around the trails of Palos. Shoot me an email.

    • brkeyes7 July 15, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

      Zach, email on its way, thanks!

  5. jacquiephelan July 16, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    VEry technical asphalt canyon there. It looks like metro Moab, from this “aunt” perspective.

  6. Jenny July 17, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    The Chicago area may be pretty flat, but not far north in Wisconsin we have some hills. Check out one of our local rides http://www.horriblyhilly.com/course.html There are also mountain biking opportunities galore. Local to me is Blue Mounds State Park kept up by http://www.madcitydirt.org/ Closer to you is the Southern Kettle Moraine, and I have heard that is excellent riding as well.

    • brkeyes7 July 18, 2010 at 5:36 am #

      Thanks for the links! I’ll be sure to add those places to my exploration list.

Leave a Reply

