Clarks TT And Draper ICUP Preview

21 May

I bailed on the Soldier Hollow weekly race and decided to TT Clarks and scope out the Draper ICUP course instead.

Clarks has been re-routed at the top so I wasn’t sure how much that would add to the times from last year.  Based on the few times that have been posted I was guessing it would take longer.  At 10:50 I would be correct, that is almost a minute slower than my best time from last year.  Do I think the trail is a minute longer than last year? No, it’s more like 30 seconds longer It’s just that I’m a little slower this year.  I predict someone will break the 10 min mark but not by much and not without some ear blood.

The top of Clarks is conveniently located right at the top of Jamie’s trail, Rush. How you could choose any other way down is beyond me, Rush is my favorite trail in Corner Canyon, very much a working downhill that can be as tiring as climbing Clarks. Totally dig it.

At the bottom Canyon Hollow I found the pink flags marking the ICUP course and checked out few sections.  Given all the trail that has been built in CC I am pretty surprised that they incorporated a bunch of deer trail/bush whacking sections.  I’m not complaining, just saying.  Also, watch out for all the super steep grunts, I predict I’ll be doing some hiking. The newer sections could definitely use some traffic so get out there and give it a spin but only after TT’ing Clarks.

13 Responses to “Clarks TT And Draper ICUP Preview”

  1. GrizzlyAdam May 21, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    I had the same thought as I pre-rode yesterday. “With all the amazing trail here, we have to ride up this eroded piece of crap?”

    • bob May 21, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Stop your bitching, both of you, the trail committee is going to work on the silica pit trail this weekend to make sure it is ridable.

      Bike racing is hard.

      • GrizzlyAdam May 21, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

        I ‘aint bitchin’. Just pointing out the obvious. But I liked the course. Really, I did.

  2. KanyonKris May 21, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Rush is coming along. The rerouted top flows much better. Kudos to Jamie redoing it, must have been work. Rode it 2 weeks ago and it was rough, chewed up by deer and horses. The lower part in the trees doesn’t flow well for me. Looking forward to working on the trail some more, it’ll only get better.

    I enjoy descending Brocks and Canyon Hollow, when I don’t choose Ghost.

  3. Doug (not dug) May 21, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    I do not know if I will ever be able to call Jamie’s trail Rush. The Mistress is better.

    I was up there Wesnesday night and Jamies trail had a fair amount of mud in the upper section. It will require a bit of work at some point so that we do not have pools forming. We definitely need people to ride the trail. Grass is starting to grow!!

  4. ER Dog May 21, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Funny, I TT’d Clark’s today too- kinda. I just started riding and got excited and decided to time it. I wasn’t aware of the rerouting so I justaboutblewalung when I looked up and didn’t know where I was. I did it in just about 13:00.

  5. Nick May 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    “How you could choose any other way down is beyond me”
    I could choose one…Ghost

    • Doug (not dug) May 22, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

      A nice ride is up Clark’s, Down Jamie’s trail, up Canyon Hollow and then down Ghost.

      • brkeyes7 May 22, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

        Now you’re talkin

  6. tibiker May 23, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    Agreed, I still try to incorporate Ghost during every ride. I confess (in the confessing mood since I just read fatcyclist blog) that the upper section of Rush flows much better than the second phase. We will have Joey Kline from IMBA here helping us soon. He definitely helped that top section, so be patient, it’ll get better.

    FWIW, I hated the Ghost Falls re-route when it was first built, now I love it. I hope the Rush trail will get better with age too.

  7. tibiker May 23, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Oh, and the Clark’s re-route does add about 45-60 seconds, and I am also not as fast as before.

  8. Nick May 27, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Off the subject…I forgot to ask how those Speed Kings hook up in our conditions?

    • brkeyes7 May 28, 2010 at 8:26 am #

      Nick, I’m really digging the Speed Kings. They not only hook up great around here they are also a breeze to setup tubeless. Will definitely purchase again.

Leave a comment