I’m A Mountain Biker Now

21 Apr

I haven’t been on my road bike since Hell of the North but have been on my mountain bike nearly every day since so it’s safe to say I’m back to being a full time mountain biker.

It feels good to be a mountain biker. I rode Frank N Betty in the UC this week and can’t believe I’ve never ridden Betty. Wow! Thanks Ricky and Miles for showing me the way, the truth, the light that is Utah County trail. That shit is steep and nasty! Just the way I like it.

OK, It’s that 100 miles of RAWROD time of year and unfortunately I wont’ be able to ride with the big group on Saturday so the Friday TT is the next best (better? Nah.) thing.

It’s now been 2 years since I did a TT of the White Rim and my goal for Friday is to do it under 7:30. That will make me a mountain biker for sure, no?  Check back Sunday or Monday or Tuesday for a White Rim update.  Should be fun or at least completely miserable.

9 Responses to “I’m A Mountain Biker Now”

  1. bob April 21, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I believe, although I could be wrong, that said white rim could easily be done on a CX bike or even road bike with beefy tires.

    roadie…….

    • dug April 22, 2010 at 8:30 am #

      “said white rim could easily be done”

      there aren’t many scenarios where this statement is true. especially if you throw in road bike or cx bike. ouch.

      • Bob April 22, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

        relativity

        • brkeyes7 April 24, 2010 at 9:56 am #

          I double dog dare you to do it on a cross bike

          • Grizzly Adam April 25, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

            A road or CX bike would be ideal for the section between mineral road and the pay station. Other than that… not so much.

  2. KanyonKris April 22, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    Not fooling me, you’ve always been a mountain biker, although I don’t know what 5 years of Chicago will do to you.

  3. dug April 22, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    ” goal for Friday is to do it under 7:30. That will make me a mountain biker for sure, no?”

    no, i think that makes you a roadie.

  4. KC April 24, 2010 at 5:57 am #

    If you think Betty to Frank was good, wait until you can go up Betty to the top and down Dry. Now that is a pure delight–and just the beginning of what the UC has to offer. Come back soon.

    • brkeyes7 April 24, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      KC, do you mean doing the loop counter-clockwise adding Dry?

Leave a Reply

