I’m A Roadie Now

5 Apr

Screw all you poseur mountain bikers out there, you have no idea what racing bikes is all about. Let me tell you.

I’ve now missed 2 out of 2 ICUP’s this year and not sure when I’ll get out for a proper mountain bike race so what’s a boy to do? Road race. Not counting a hill climb and maybe a crit many years ago, it might have been a cross race, I have never raced in a road race. Hell of the North on Saturday was my very first taste of road racing. I didn’t spit it out.

I was shocked, absolutely shocked at how slow these things start. Compared to a mountain bike race where you pin it from the get go we all soft pedaled for the first 5 miles or so. I was so tempted to just go but being the newbie felt like I needed to take cues from the group.

About 18 started with our Master’s B group. With a one day license you can only sign up for a couple different categories. 7 of us got a bit of a gap pretty quick and remained together for the rest of the race.

Since this was my first road race I’ll assume all races are going to be like this; start easy, push the pace for a couple minutes, recover for a while, repeat.

I just couldn’t stand it any longer. I had to keep jumping to the front and doing some work to make it feel like a race and then I’d think, “wait a minute, someone else should do some work so I’m not fried for the last lap.” I’d then sit up and wait for someone to take over. turns out there were only 3 of us that were willing to do any work.

In the end, 2 riders out of our group of 7 that had NEVER taken a turn at the front took off with 1/3 of a lap to go. None of the worker bees could really answer so they finished 1,2. I think I rolled across 5th or 6th. I’m not complaining, not too much anyway. I got a better workout than the guy that won and that is why I was there.

Here I am telling the peloton, can I use that word, how to pitch a proper knuckle ball.

One thing I noticed from these pictures is that you don’t really need two hands to road race.

I’m sure I’ll be back for more, if nothing more than to speak out of turn at the start to piss off the race official. What is it with the officials? Is it just Utah or road racing in general? I’m bringing them some moan to go with their bitch next time.

17 Responses to “I’m A Roadie Now”

  1. Flahute April 5, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    a) as one of them so-called officials, I say give ’em hell … then come to the ‘cross races and have fun.

    b) at least you spelled peloton correctly …

    c) what’s next? Gonna throw away the baggies?

    • brkeyes7 April 6, 2010 at 7:24 am #

      Sheffield, I didn’t see you on Sat so you’re exempt from my comment and baggies are so last year!

  2. DaveH April 6, 2010 at 5:25 am #

    You need a hilly route Brad! Road racing is boring without hills, well unless it’s a crit where everyone is obliged to go fast. Hills change the pace to hard.

    And hey, if Kenny gets the same bug slap him upside the head, ok? Road racing is way more dangerous than MTB racing, his bones will not do well with pavement at 30 mph.

  3. Lozon April 6, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    as far as officials go…it’s just her…I dont know what her deal is…

  4. Bill Martin April 6, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    Great post. Do they have SS class? I know that answer, just saying, would be interesting. Next time just pin it from the start … they don’t like that. I have won a couple that way. Everyone looks around thinking, “who is going to chase him down, oh well, we have time”. Ha!

  5. Kevin Taylor April 6, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    To paraphrase “Tricky Dick” Nixon, “We’re all roadies now!” Welcome to the dark side. I had been wondering what could keep you from an ICUP race, and from St. George. Now I know.

  6. Karl April 6, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Wow. sounds exciting…..NOT! It sounds like too much psycho mumbo and not enough leg and lung. Let us know how it is when you get a real license and hit the higher Cat levels.

  7. mark April 6, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    As far as the officials go, it’s just her. Well Gary can get up in your grill too, but mostly it’s just her. I don’t know why she does it because she is clearly not having fun.

  8. kenny April 6, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Don’t worry Dave, all those things that Brad mentions in this post, is why I don’t road race. Grumpy Officials. Stupid tactics. Politically Catagorizing talent. Every road race I’ve done has left me feeling a bit confused and on edge. And there’s no sitting around drinking beer afterwards. Where’s the fun?

    • mtb w April 6, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      You nailed it!

    • DaveH April 7, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

      You da man Kenny!

  9. KanyonKris April 6, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Brad, with your motor you can do whatever you want on a bike and pull it off.

    Road tactics: be lazy.

    Hell of the North is lame. If you’re not in the lead group going into the dirt corner, you’re screwed.

  10. dug April 7, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Brad- Looks like were having way too much fun out there. Everyone else has the pain face on and you are smiling and waving. That had to mess with their heads.

  11. dug April 7, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Crap. I forgot I’m on Dug’s computer (Rick S.). Maybe I’ll go post something on his blog while I’m logged in.

  12. Jason April 7, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Sam and I had a run in with her last year at Capital Reef – she threatened us with fines for not signing in 15 minutes previous to start or something stupid like that, then made an example of us in front of the group at the start. Would have pissed me off if I didn’t feel so sorry for whatever misery makes her act like that.

  13. Slowerthensnot April 8, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    I donno about this post?!??!?!

  14. mike w April 9, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    I agree with Rick, you are smiling entirely too much for that race. I’ve done it before and it is PAINFUL! Good job!

Leave a Reply

