Team CarboRocket

28 Feb

Do you ever start something and then ask yourself, “what the hell was I thinking?” Well, that’s what I’ve asking myself about team CarboRocket . Truth be told I had no idea what I was getting into. After reading over 150 stories from people all over the world I feel very tiny, as in muy miniscule. Definitely NOT worthy of being the repository for so many compelling stories from such amazing people.

It’s been incredibly difficult trying to decide on just 10 team members. I’ve read and re-read every submission multiple times and eventually narrowed down the finalists to 30. My wife, Tasha, told me I needed to have a system in place to make the final selection as fair as possible since all the stories were so good. Fair, in the loosest sense of the word as the results are still pretty subjective but at least I can say I used some sort of “system” in the process.

Here’s my system: I wanted potential team members to submit to me in 150 words or less 3 things; a story, a goal and challenges or obstacles. I then assigned a point value for each of those 3 things 1, 2 or 3 with 3 being the highest. I tallied the scores of each submission to determine the top 10.

Yes, it is possible to have a good story and a good goal and be weak on the obstacle or challenge score and still do well. So, a seemingly more deserving individual may fall short if they didn’t have a good goal or a good story score. This system helped, sort of. I still had over 12 men with equal qualifying scores so it came down to a dart throw on my part for the men.

Here is Team CarboRocket for 2010 in no particular order and 5 men and 5 women:

  1. Drew Darnel
  2. Christine McBride
  3. David Visschedyk
  4. Lisa Serao
  5. Jeremiah Prater
  6. Mary Reynolds
  7. Rob Thompson
  8. Jen Joy
  9. Brett Ringger
  10. Sheryl Sturgess

If you applied and your name isn’t listed above don’t be too put out. It really did come down to a dart throw. Also, spots may open if riders are unable to be contributing team members.

Wow, I’m exhausted. I will get team bios and blog up later this week. If your name isn’t on the list and you applied shoot me an email and I’ll send you details on how you can still be involved, It’ll be worth your while.

Thanks so much to everyone who took the time to share their story. It’s been an honor to read them all.

I’ll be emailing the team in a day or two with details, right now I need some breakfast.

Lastly, huge thanks to Fatcyclist, Ibis Cycles, Ritchey and Bingham Cyclery for hopping on board and helping sponsor the team!

13 Responses to “Team CarboRocket”

  1. Bill Meadows February 28, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    awesome! cant wait to see how this all goes down!!!

  2. evilbanks March 1, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    this is a great idea man, very cool!

  3. Doug (not dug) March 1, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    This one of the coolest things I have ever seen. I am excited to see the stories.

  4. Heather March 1, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I’m excited for the stories, especially to see how everyone manages to tackle their goals. I’m really going to enjoy seeing how this plays out… no doubt we’ll be hearing about lots of amazing accomplishments.

  5. Mary R March 1, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Thanks for choosing me! I can barely stay seated at my desk chair, I am so excited! My mind is racing at a million miles an hour. I’m super-psyched for my ride after work tonight!

  6. Dartanyon March 1, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    A huge congratulations to everyone chosen! I know that you will all kick butt, and I can’t wait to follow your progress.

  7. Drew March 1, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    I must say that I am humbled yet proud. There are parts of my story that I am ashamed of. This competition/Team has given me the motivation and guts to tell it without worrying about what is going to be said. I hope my story inspires just one person. Inspires them to know one thing – that they CAN do it.

  8. Jenn March 1, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Can’t wait to read all the stories!!

  9. ChristyMcB March 1, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    Drew, I feel exactly the same way…I’m looking forward to sharing my adventure along with everyone else!

    Brad, thank you again, I hope to make you and everyone else proud.

  10. rich March 2, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    This is awesome – can’t wait to hear the stories….

  11. Bryan March 2, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Congrats to those selected.

  12. Sheryl March 3, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Wow,

    It still hasn’t sunk in, but it has made the last few training sessions much easier. Knowing that I’ve told someone else (and the internet) what I plan on doing means I really have to do it now.

    Thanks for this awesome opportunity Brad

  13. Rob Thompson March 6, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    I’m glad to be on the team. It’s like a blessing to be on the team and to ride a bike. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

