Blisters And Karaoke

19 Jan

One of the best weekends in a long while. Weekends start on Friday, right? Kenny came and picked me up Friday night (man-date) and we headed down to the warehouse to watch The Revival, a fixie bike movie. Just insert a skateboard or trials bike or snowboard or skis and you get the idea. Warren Miller meets some fixie dudes from Portland.

The warehouse ain’t about whats playing it’s about the warehouse. Brian Price has what every man wants, NO YARD WORK. He lives and sleeps in a warehouse and hosts parties in same said warehouse nearly every weekend. Did I mention no yard work? Go Brian!

I then got up at 5 am on Saturday and went back-country skiing with dug, Mark and Dustin. Did you hear that, 5 am! I have no idea where we were except that it was somewhere in Little Cottonwood Canyon.

I am a total amateur. I can’t ski to save my life and my life needed saving multiple times Saturday. 5 hours of back-country after the warehouse Friday night just about killed me. At least I got a souvenir; blisters. Lots of them all over my ankles and shins. I’m guessing it’ll be a couple weeks before I can put the boots on again. Luckily Tasha had a nice leisurely Sunday planned for us (real-date).

Karaoke and sushi class at Mt. Fuji.

I’m a natural when it comes to karaoke and making sushi. Chef Jo said so. Many times, I think. I couldn’t understand a word he said all night but he knows how to throw a good sushi making class complete with karaoke. I ended up making 2 rolls, 1 hand roll and 1 piece of ngiri.

Yes, I made those and they were delicious.

I don’t know if it was all the wasabe or sake but I was the only person out of a group of 24 that thought karaoke was a good idea. I’d post the video but I may run for public office some day, I’m pretty sure I totally killed it though.

11 Responses to “Blisters And Karaoke”

  1. ricky January 19, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    your blisters made me not so hungy. the sushi made me hungry. i’m good now. sorry about the blisters.

  2. KanyonKris January 19, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Nice rolls there, Grasshopper.

    We make sushi at home occasionally. Fun family thing, the kids liked rolling their own. We make one bizarro roll each time – last was Cheetos and Hot Dog (it wasn’t good).

    If I had some AT gear I’d ski with you. I’m pretty sure at or below your ski skill level.

    • brkeyes7 January 20, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      I can’t believe the cheeto n hotdog roll wasn’t good because it just sounds so good

      • KanyonKris January 20, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

        I know, go figure. The youngest 2 kids liked it, but everyone else made the yucky face.

  3. Grizzly Adam January 20, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Welcome to the backcountry.

    And that looks like…Cardiff area? Grizzly Gulch? Twin Lakes Pass?

    Dug, where were you standing!?

    • dug January 20, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

      white pine canyon, we are standing in the bowl below the north face of lake peak, which is along the pink pine ridge, just below/north of white pine lake.

      • Grizzly Adam January 20, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

        That was my next guess.

        • brkeyes7 January 20, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

          The bowl below North face of Lake Peak along Pink Pine ridge just below or North of White Pine lake. That’s right, of course I knew where we were

  4. Kenny January 21, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    Wait.. did you just insinuate that our date wasn’t “real”. That just hurts man.

    • brkeyes7 January 21, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

      Oh, it was real alright I was reminded of it the next morning trying to ski.

  5. Brian January 21, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    NO YARD WORK indeed! However, mopping that expanse of painted concrete floor can be a real pain. Luckily there is such a thing as topless housecleaning.

Leave a Reply

