Chuck-A-Rama

15 Jan

I had lunch with Chuck Ibis aka Scot Nicol of Ibis and Fatty, the only two people alive that know the true identity of BikeSnobNYC. They wouldn’t talk about that but couldn’t shut up about anything else. Seriously, non-stop chatter boxes those two.

Chuck/Scot wanted us to come to Ogden for lunch. “You been to Ogden before?” I asked Fatty. “No, you?” We have both driven past Ogden many times and maybe through Ogden, we’re not sure.

25th Street is the main drag in downtown Ogden and Scot has an old building that he has remodeled into a couple of really nice rental units. Turns out Scot has adopted Ogden as his 2nd home and has a vested interest in everything Ogden. As a matter of fact, if you need to know anything about Ogden just ask Scot.

After giving us the grand tour we ended up having lunch at the Sonora Grill. Fantastic place! The owner even made guacamole for us at our table. I’m definitely going back but will leave Fatty home next time as he was stealing guacamole from other tables.  Embarrassing.

Whenever there was a lull in conversation, and trust me theses dudes can talk, I tried to get some questions in. As best as I can remember here is how the questions went down:

Me: Scot were you at the Bayou on Monday?

Scot: Yeah, how’d you know? Some dude was staring me down and making me nervous, almost called the cops.

Me: That was Mark Kennedy, mostly harmless local celebrity stalker.

Me: What’s up with Ogden? Why Ogden?

Scot: It’s a long story but I have roots here, as a matter of fact, a great great great grandfather way down the line was part of Brigham Young’s inner circle right up until he disagreed with what was going down at Mountain Meadows and he then had a bounty on his head for 20 years.

Me: Whoa!

Scot then spent an hour taking me and Elden on a walking tour of Ogden telling us its history, the present state of affairs and the future, yep, he can see the future and it’s Ogden.

Me: What’s your favorite Ibis model ever?

Scot and Elden at the same time and before the question was out of my mouth: Ti Mojo hardtail.

There were other questions and answers but I took a blood oath not to share.  Suffice it to say Scot has something in the works that will “blow your mind”.  That’s what he said.

I’ll share some more of my plans and how they involve Scot and Fatty just as soon as I figure out exactly what the plan is.  Stay tuned and if you want to visit the coolest little city in Northern Utah check out Ogden.  Really.

Have you seen my hair lately? Damn!

16 Responses to “Chuck-A-Rama”

  1. mark January 15, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Ogden is a cool town. Harvest Moon Criterium was one of my favorite races this year.

    Lovin’ the hair.

  2. Daren January 15, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Brad,

    I’m a native Ogden boy. There’s some good MTB rides in the Ogden area. We should make a pilgrimage sometime and I’ll be your tour guide. Also, some of the fast guys in our age group are from Ogden, Glen Adams and Chris Bingham.

    Sonorna Grill is great.

  3. UtRider January 15, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    What happened to the hair on your face? Beards/goatees are designed for winter!

    • brkeyes7 January 17, 2010 at 7:40 am #

      Cut and paste!

  4. Doug (not dug) January 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Here I thought you were folically challenged.

  5. fish January 15, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    That hair is freaking me out.

  6. Kendra January 15, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    Wow, I would never recognize you on the street with that much hair!

  7. Heidi January 15, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    Love the hair, just need a good stylist. I can be honest since I’m your sis and all. Great writing, I didn’t know you were so talented, I did know you were a smart a.. at times. Since I’m not an avid cyclist I have no idea what you are talking about but it sounds legit….Love ya

  8. Heidi January 15, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    I forgot to ask. What’s with the Chuck-A-Rama.? I’m stumped.

  9. ricky January 16, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    Nice report. The Mojo was the first real mtb I got many years ago. It really was point and shoot. Did you ask Scot when he’s going to do a 29er? Well, when?

    Good riding with you this week. The snow suits you well. Your hair’s fine. It just needs a little product. Bring Scot down to the UC. It will be good for him to ride where his great great great grandpappy did.

    • brkeyes7 January 17, 2010 at 7:42 am #

      Elden was bugging the crap out of Scot about doing a 29er. Giving him pointers and everything. We invited him to come to Fall Moab.

  10. Rick S. January 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    The hair threw me off at the Squaw ride. Obviously doesn’t slow you down any on the bike so keep it.

  11. jruss January 18, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Nicol lost a lot of street credibility with me by naming his new super squishy carpet wonder bike the Mojo. Definitely not a Mojo. I am fine with him throwing a hat into that particular genre of bicycle, but Mojo? Really? Bummer. The Mojo was one of the finest hardtails money could buy. Name it something else.

    I guess you can buy a fullspension stump jumper these days too – must be me that has it all wrong.

    • brkeyes7 January 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

      I hear you, here’s Scot’s reply and maybe we should throw a leg over: “I think we only lost our street cred for a very short period, the Mojo has been vindicated and earned its moniker.”

  12. fish January 18, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    I’m with JRuss. The first time I saw the squishy mojo, it made me feel sad for my old long lost mojo. And I use a suspension fork and everything. Why not Szazbo? Those were original ibis and squishy.

  13. Slowerthensnot January 19, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    mojo fits… such a sick riding little wheeled bike!

    Scot is such a nice guy. I love my tranny i hope ibis does it in a 29er flavor at some point

Leave a Reply

