Halloween Double Cross Weekend

3 Nov

CX season is officially half over as of Sunday.  6 weekends down, 6 to go.  I’ve now started 5 races (on 4 weekends) and finished 3.  I think I am starting to get it, at least a little bit, and I’ve learned a few things:

  1. Do more than 1 race a year. It only took me a decade and a half of lining up at the rate of 1 race per year, never to do very well nor return the following weekend, to finally discover the secret to cross racing.  I have been missing out and it’s my own fault.
  2. Dance with who brung ya.   In my case that is riding a single speed.  It’s what I know.  I just feel safer, more comfortable and faster on the SS than a geared bike.  Anyone want a Fuji geared cross bike?  Take it for as long as you like, size 58, it’s yours.
  3. It ain’t over til it’s over.  You just never know how these things are going to shake out until the last seconds, maybe that’s what I’m finding so addictive about cross.

Sunday didn’t have quite as many lined up as Saturday but I’d say we still had 20+ on the line.  I can’t believe how hard everyone takes it out on the first couple laps, maybe I need to work on that or just warm up for more than 2 minutes.  I didn’t start to feel good until the bell lap.

At the start of the bell lap I was sitting in 5th and happy to be there.  I had been riding behind Steve Wasmund most of the day and he had just passed Patrick Ramirez and then Wasmund crashed out.  I somehow got my wheel in front of Ramirez’ at the finish.

Sager ended up with the W, no surprise there but I surprised myself with 3rd.

I’m addicted, the hooks are in deep.

8 Responses to “Halloween Double Cross Weekend”

  1. KanyonKris November 3, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    I’d like to try your Fuji for a race. I did one CX race on my mountain bike and it was OK, but everyone told me a cross bike makes it better so I want to give it a fair shake.

    • brkeyes7 November 3, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

      Come and get it!

  2. jeremy November 4, 2009 at 7:32 am #

    Nice work Brad! Stick with what you know! Thanks for not running over me sunday as I laid there trying to figure out where I was…ouch! I plan on hitting CC tomorrow around 11 or so, if you or anyone else is interested I will be starting near eagle crest drive and heading across and up Jacobs…after that just meander until I cant pedal anymore.

    • brkeyes7 November 4, 2009 at 8:51 am #

      I might run into you, can’t get out til Noonish.

  3. Eric November 4, 2009 at 7:37 am #

    Yeah buddy! The same hooks have got me deep down

  4. Daren November 4, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    Welcome to the club, my friend. There’s something about an hour in the pain cave that keeps you coming back each week.

  5. NC Dooj November 5, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    Hey, Why do you have a Czech flag on your right shoulder? I race here in NC and have jerseys from my wifes home in Slovakia with the slovak crest on them. Just wondered. Really enjoy your posts. douglas

    • brkeyes7 November 5, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

      My friend Joe Petras who is Czech owns a local brewery called “Bohemian” and this is a jersey they just put together. I think the jersey’s turned out really great. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

