Utah CX #4 and #5

31 Oct

Race #4 in Draper went so bad for me I haven’t been able to write about it.  I’s now been a week and I had a much better race #5 at Wheeler Farm today.  I feel like I can revisit Draper for at least a sentence, maybe two or maybe more.

Last Saturday was CX in my backyard!  I was so excited and felt like I would surely own the course.

drapercross2

Not exactly.

In the following photo (thanks, Lyna) Tom Cook shows how to properly execute a run up.  Me?  Not so much.  Tom is clearly aimed up the hill, shoulders squared while  I am clearly aimed for somewhere else.

Shortly after this shot I jumped back on my bike, with no small amount of grace I assure you, and the rear tire exploded off the rim.  Done after 2 laps.

drapercross1

That’s OK I brought a geared (shudder) cross bike and jumped into the 35 A’s.  2 laps in and the chain got sucked into the crank and rings so badly that I would only just break the chain and fix it a couple days ago.  Done after 2 laps.

3 starts for the season and just 1 finish.  No expectations today at Wheeler Farm.  I didn’t even decide to go until about 11 this morning and hadn’t gotten around to changing my flat from last week, it’s been too cold ride all week anyway.

Kaboom!I covered the garage and myself in Stan’s this morning about an hour before the start.  I still can’t feel my fingers.

IMG_1024

HUGE turnout today.  Someone said over 400 racers between all the classes.  We had over 30 in the single speed class (yes, I am a hypocrite) with about half dressed up like Rick S. That’s him in the baby blue tux.

IMG_1028

Loved the course, lots of fun if not a little flat.  I think I finished 5th which I’ll take with a big grin on my face.  I could get into this cross stuff.  It’s amazingly addictive.

My goal this year was to do at least 2 cross races and I have now done that.  Am I done? No way.

Oh yeah, Happy Halloween from me and Cassidy the gay firefighter.

IMG_1047

14 Responses to “Utah CX #4 and #5”

  1. Bob October 31, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    My butt looks cute

    • brkeyes7 November 1, 2009 at 7:21 pm #

      Yours is almost as small as mine.

  2. Forrest October 31, 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    Told you it would be your day!

  3. Flahute November 1, 2009 at 5:26 am #

    Glad you’re coming out to the UTCX races. Now if you could just help me convince everyone to cross the finish line one at a time, slowly, and spread out at decent intervals to make scoring them easier.

  4. jdub November 1, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    Nice job out there yesterday, you had that SS motoring across that course!

  5. Dave Harris November 1, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    Strange things happen when single speeders try to go with gears! Not so subtle irony.

    • brkeyes7 November 1, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

      Never again.

  6. eber November 1, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    we all should stans our tires w/ fear and loathing.

  7. Rick S. November 1, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    Nice race Brad. That was a fast field.

  8. KanyonKris November 1, 2009 at 11:54 am #

    Not that there’s anything wrong with cross-cycling. Or gay firefighters either.

  9. Dave November 2, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    400 racers??? Sheesh, I am promoting cross in the wrong state. Ha! Nice work on your 5th place.

  10. matt November 2, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    It is good to see that you are wearing our gear. How do you like it?

    • brkeyes7 November 2, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

      I’ve got a Butte 100 jersey and the Bohemian jersey and I liked them so much I ordered a bunch of CarboRocket jersey’s from you all. How’s that for like?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Utah CX #4 and #5 « brad keyes [bradkeyes.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com - November 2, 2009

    […] Utah CX #4 and #5 « brad keyes bradkeyes.wordpress.com/2009/10/31/utah-cx-4-and-5 – view page – cached Race #4 in Draper went so bad for me I haven’t been able to write about it. I’s now been a week and I had a much better race #5 at Wheeler Farm today. — From the page […]

Leave a Reply

