Snowbird Hill Climb And A 100 Mile Hangover

23 Aug

Here come the excuses. Its been 3 weeks since the Butte 100 race and I still have a 100 mile hangover. I’m eating anything and everything in sight. I have no self control whatsoever, unbridled gluttony. I’m pretty sure I’ve gained 10 pounds and the hair of the dog has become my daily breakfast.

I’ve decided that riding bikes isn’t any fun anymore. The few times I’ve been out I’ve felt like shit. To add insult to injury I’ve been battling a cold for the last week.

How should one cope with such a situation? Race the Snowbird hill climb of course.

I’m a little embarrassed to admit that as long as I have been riding and racing bicycles here in Utah I have never done the Snowbird hill climb. I’m not sure why because there isn’t anything I enjoy more than riding up really steep hills on my road bike. Not so much on Saturday.

It hurt from the get go and I was barely able to keep it spinning in the granny gear. I knew my race was over when I got passed by the dude in Nike basketball shorts, t-shirt and skate helmet.

Where to from here? I don’t know but I think I’ll have another slice of pizza and another cookie.

10 Responses to “Snowbird Hill Climb And A 100 Mile Hangover”

  1. Doug August 23, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    Do not feel bad. That guy is very fast and was forced to move up to the expert class at the Solitude weekly race. He was killing the sport class. I also believe he is a professional Snowboarder. The dude flat out smokes it up hill.

  2. dug August 23, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    the question is, did you keep going on up to the tram?

    • brkeyes7 August 23, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

      Uhh….no

  3. Rick S. August 23, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    You could use a few extra lbs. I’m not sure 10 is enough.

  4. tibiker August 23, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    I think I will ask what we’re all wanting to ask……………when can we go for a ride? Of course, you’ll still probably kick all of our collective arses, but at least if we ever have a shot at beating you up a hill, this may be it.

  5. KP August 23, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Where do you go from here? Gooseberry.

    • brkeyes7 August 24, 2009 at 6:38 am #

      Oh yeah! Sept. 26th is the 100k, come on down.

  6. Bill Martin August 24, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    Bummer Brad, I am hoping the dirt will be calling your name once again soon. I hope it wasn’t the Cold Smoke Scotch Ale that I gave you after the B100. I thought it would help you recover. I have been using it for great results lately … oh yea, and I am 5lbs over and cant keep my ass out of The Bridge Pizza Shop …o/o

  7. SkiMoab August 24, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    My buddy and I were at sundance last year and we had to dismount and walk down the downhill course in a fairly sketchy section. While we were hiking down we were passed by a guy on a Next with one of those backpacks with the speakers in them. It sounded like he was rockin’ out to Michael Buble. Getting schooled by Buble on a Next, that was a very humbling moment…

  8. whit August 26, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    I’m just glad to know you are human! 🙂 You’ll bounce back and be leading the guy in nike shorts in no time!

Leave a Reply

