Shit Stick

15 Jun

First off, major props to CarboRocket imbibers Monavie-Cannondale rider Bart Gillespie and Gary Fisher-Subaru rider  KC Holley for winning the Men’s and Women’s Pro-class at Deer Valley on Saturday.  Nice work!

IMG_4563

IMG_4568

And now on to the race that’s forever burned into my memory and my quads.  When I pre-rode the course I barely made it up the initial climb without walking.  Little Stick, the name of the ski run we had to climb at the beginning of each lap, should be re-named Shit Stick, cause that’s how it made me feel.  My plan was to swap to an easier gear than the 34×20 I was running but saw Rick running the same and decided I needed to man up.  Hey, I only have to do it 3 times, I’ll walk if I have to and still be going as fast as anyone pedaling.  Maybe.

My plan was to ride as hard as I effin could from the get go and never let up.  It worked pretty well as Chris B. and I took turns leading for the first two laps.  And then Shit Stick got stuck in my spokes and forced me off the bike to walk about 25 yards on the last lap and Chris got ahead of me by 50 yards or so and stayed there til the finish.  I finished 30 seconds back good for 2nd.  I’ve said it before but ‘ll take 2nd to Chris any day, the dude can pedal.

dv4 Picture by Tweety Bob’s better half Lyna.

There was a great turnout despite all the rain and once the race got started the clouds went away and we had sunshine and blue skies.  Turned out to be perfect conditions.  Everyone showed up including a few foreigners like Dave who came all the way down from the Jackson Hole area.

Hardest race of the year so far with thoughts of gears and suspension dancing in my head the entire time.  Someday…

7 Responses to “Shit Stick”

  1. grannygear June 16, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    Gears and suspension? Say it ain’t so!

  2. KanyonKris June 16, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Losing your religion?

  3. Rick S June 16, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    Thanks for not changing out your gear but I totally agree. That climb sucked (and I only had to do it twice).

    When you and Chris caught and passed me, I felt I was standing still. Your first lap was a fast one.

    Wait until your knees are totally blown before you go with the gears.

  4. troy June 16, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    dude get those thoughts out of your head!
    time to cowboy up!
    word.

  5. jruss June 16, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    Be careful Mister Keyes – you are on a slippery slope. Gears and suspension will never really make you happy.

  6. Bob June 16, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    poop

  7. Bill Martin June 17, 2009 at 6:57 am #

    Congratulations Brad and also the pro rocketteers! Cant wait till you ride the Butte 100 … did some sections last weekend and the trail near the end will be so cool.

Leave a Reply

