World’s Greatest Holiday

11 May

Ask my kids what their favorite holiday is and they will freely answer, “Mother’s Day.”  No, not Christmas or their birthday but Mother’s Day.  Why, might you ask?  It has to be the cheese, or maybe it’s the Mother.

For the last number of years we have made a tradition of packing a picnic to Red Butte Gardens and feasting and drinking until all we can do is roll around in the grass.  By feasting, of course, I mean eating lots and lots of exotic cheeses and meats and more cheeses.  Maybe toss in some crusty baguette and an Oregon Pinot but the focus has been and always will be the cheese.

This year was no disappointment.  I brought along generous portions of Rembrandt Gouda, French Mimolette, Brie and Swiss.  I stepped up the meat selection to include genuine Prosciutto di Parma wrapped around cantaloupe and some hard dry salami.  I’m telling you it was pure palette heaven.

This year was extra special because we haven’t been eating any dairy products (don’t ask) so the cheese was an extra special treat.  I seriously could have just died yesterday because it just doesn’t get any better.

Of course none of this would be possible without a Mother.  Happy Mother’s Day Mom and Happy Mother’s Day Tasha.  I love you both!

Oh, what does one look like after such a feast? Glad you asked, pretty damn happy and in my case, pretty damn old.

mothersday

10 Responses to “World’s Greatest Holiday”

  1. Brad Mullen May 11, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    Incerdible day. You really know how to live 🙂

  2. dug May 12, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    so seriously, what’s with the dairy? dairy rocks.

  3. Bob May 12, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    mmmmm cheese.

  4. grannygear May 13, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Awesome tradition. Your kids will always remember that.

    grannygear

  5. Brett May 13, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    Did you ride up clarks today (wednesday the 13th) at lunch? luckily I had just finished climbing (red sleeveless jersy and root beer GF rig) so I didn’t have to suffer the humiliation of being caught and passed by someone in a 29er jersey and an orange rigid vassagio SS. Good thing that trail wasn’t 200 yards longer or you would have caught me. I would feel a little bad for you, but you caught 5 other rabbits on the climb. not too bad.

    if it wasn’t you, disregard.

    • brkeyes7 May 13, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

      That was me getting a little nooner in. You were waiting for some other guy at the top and I waived as I went by? Too much traffic on that trail. Need to hit it in the a.m. or night.

  6. Brett May 14, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    Yep, that was me. Hey, what gearing were you using? I finally came to terms with the fact that I’m not strong enough to push a 18 tooth up clarks and switched to a 20 t, but you were flying…

    p.s. I have some original formula carbo rocket. love the stuff. I’m excited to finish it up to try some of the 2.0

    • brkeyes7 May 14, 2009 at 10:03 am #

      Glad you like the CR! I run a 20t cog for 99% of the year, it seems to be the magic cog for me.

      • Brett May 15, 2009 at 8:59 am #

        yeah, I think I am going to end up leaving the 20t on for anything with significant climbing and only swap to the 18 for mostly flat rides (like those exsist in utah) We should meet up for a lunch ride sometime. It will be a great ego booster when you blow by me on the climbs

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Topics about Cheeses » World's Greatest Holiday « brad keyes - May 12, 2009

    […] brkeyes7 put an intriguing blog post on World's Greatest Holiday « brad keyesHere’s a quick excerptBy feasting, of course, I mean eating lots and lots of exotic cheeses and meats and more cheeses. Maybe toss in some crusty baguette and an Oregon Pinot but the focus has been and always will be the cheese. … […]

Leave a Reply

