Cholla Challenge Report

5 Apr

The SoUt trip this weekend started out a little scary with white-out road conditions from Fillmore to New Harmony on the way there and non-stop rain in St. George all day and night before the race.  I can’t believe how nice the weather turned out for Saturday.

I went down early on Friday to  hopefully get some materials dropped off and work done on the deck at Gooseberry.  Brian and Ali were already there getting pounded by the snow and rain.  Glad they called and told me not to come up to the mesa as they ended up leaving Ali’s car stuck in mud up to its axles.

cholla-09

I somehow managed to lose one of my set screws for my rear drop-out on the trip down but Vassago team mate Dave at OTE saved the day by giving me his off his own bike.  Thanks Dave!

Tasha was having a great race leading the 35+ women’s class for the first half of the race until she flatted out.  Tasha, I take full responsibility and I promise I’ll get Troy from Maine to get you all set up tubeless before the next race.  Congrats to Kendra on the win.

img_3172

Check out Whitney lined up with the pro women.  Yes, that is exactly where you belong.  Quit your sandbagging in the expert class, nice job on the win.

img_3186

Me mashing up the final hill to the finish.  I was a little worried about the relatively flat desert course on the SS Jabberwocky but somehow managed to pull it all together at the very end.

img_3216

KC Holley pulling off an impressive 3rd in the totally stacked women’s pro class.  Nice work!

img_3218

Dot, Tasha’s nemesis from last year,  had a great ride also finishing in 3rd in the ultra competitive women’s sport class.  I expect a win at 5-mile, Dot!

img_3220

Dan working on his tan after cleaning up, um, er, with his 2nd 1st place of the season.  I refuse to call him a roadie forever more.

img_3223

Even with the trash talking Jeremiah Bishop out of contention with a double flat the Monavie-Cannondale boys finished 1,2,3 in the men’s pro class.  I wonder what #1 and #2 were drinking out on the course?

img_3227

The pro women’s class was totally stacked (can I say that?) but Lynda Wallenfells was the dominate force Saturday followed closely by Sue Butler in 2nd and KC Holley in 3rd.  Amazing race!

img_3228

Perfect weather, great course and lots of competition made for a successful stop #2 on the Intermountain Cup circuit.  See you at 5-Mile.

15 Responses to “Cholla Challenge Report”

  1. KanyonKris April 5, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

    Brad, you’re part cheetah, right? Got some super-human biking DNA grafted in?

    How else to explain 1st place finish in Expert 40+ on a rigid single speed and everyone else on suspended gearies.

    I know you say the SS is secretly an advantage. That’s if you’ve got the watts to push it. I’m amazed man.

    Bummer about Tasha’s flat tire. Jolene said she was flying until then.

    • brkeyes7 April 7, 2009 at 9:44 am #

      You were out riding and not cheering on Jolene?

  2. Slowethensnot April 6, 2009 at 10:34 am #

    SWEEEEET! I bet it was my coffee that helped your mojo! 😉

    • brkeyes7 April 7, 2009 at 9:44 am #

      Actually, it was knowing taht my rear wheel was safely locked in place. The coffee made me have to pee.

  3. Bill Martin April 6, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    Congratulations on your 1st place finish Brad 🙂

  4. Rick S. April 6, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    Nice one Brad. What gear ratio did you run?

    • brkeyes7 April 7, 2009 at 9:45 am #

      34×18 and it felt a little little too easy on lap one but just right by lap 3.

  5. Whitney April 6, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    One win does not a sandbagger make! let me have my moment!

    • brkeyes7 April 7, 2009 at 9:48 am #

      I’ll be generous and give you 2 more before hassling you anymore.

  6. Bob April 6, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    hell whit, if you are a sandbagger WTF is BK?

    Nice job, luddite. Must be the jersey.

    • brkeyes7 April 7, 2009 at 9:50 am #

      I know you are just ramping up to smoke everyone at 5-mile and I’m gonna call you “pot” from now on; luddite on a 26er hardtail.

  7. Brandon April 6, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    Congrats on the win. Wish I could have been there.

  8. Whitney April 7, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    thank you bob!

  9. kevin"bones"talbot April 8, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    hey brad, my name is kevin and i am a friend of brian, ally and the rest of the gang at the rose, maybe he told you about me, i live in washington and race out of the hurricane shop,( i will be racing 18 hrs of fruita with DJ as a mixed duo team ) brian already knows how much i want to be involved with the yert project, i was going to be there last week but i was in sedona. i would love to talk and when you all come down again lets get together, thanks for the time man, rubber down !!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Topics about Sports » Archive » Cholla Challenge Report - April 6, 2009

    […] brad keyes placed an observative post today on Cholla Challenge ReportHere’s a quick excerptThe SoUt trip this weekend started out a little scary with white-out road conditions from Fillmore to New Harmony on the way there and non-stop rain in St. George all day and night before the race.  I can’t believe how nice the weather turned out for Saturday. I went down early on Friday to  hopefully get some materials dropped off and work done on the deck at Gooseberry.  Brian and Ali were already there getting pounded by the snow and rain.  Glad they called and told me not to come up to the […]

Leave a Reply

