I Hate The Mailman

19 Feb

Most of the time that is. Today however,  he came through in spades. I like him again.  He dropped off  a nice little package from the fine folks at Vassago.  Inside the box was a very pumpkin colored ODIS fork to complete the pumpkin pie jabber build and a 29 inch WTB Weirwolf 2.55 tire.

I gotta say I’ve never been so excited about a tire in my whole life.  Do people get excited about tires?  It looks huge, has huge volume and a nice round profile.  I think it may be the perfect all day epic 29er tire.  It’s so big that I may actually get 2 inches of travel out my rigid front end after I set it up tubeless.

I tossed it on the gram scale and it came in at 748grams, 34 grams lighter than stated on WTB’s website.  A little portly but not bad for how freaking big it is.  Here it is mounted up on a Salsa Delgado front wheel and clamped into the ODIS.

img_2626

Time to hit the snow, where I’m confident it’ll feel right at home.  I’ll post up a review after a few rides in the dirt.  That is, if I ever see dirt again.

6 Responses to “I Hate The Mailman”

  1. UtRider February 19, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    What pressure do you plan to use? I have lots of clearance on my ss and could use a bit more cushion on the front end.

  2. oilcanracer February 19, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

    yeah let us know how you like that tire.

    i could not make it bite in any conditions or tire pressure. slow rolling as well, but i am a tire snob. it was just a average all around tire for me.

  3. Jared February 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    I for one, have found Kenda Nevegals to be the bee’s knees in just about any condition. Sure, it’s a bit more rolling weight, but they hook up like no other tire I’ve ever ridden. I’m curious to hear how these handle.

  4. jruss February 19, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    I ride the very tire front and rear. Full suspension, brother. Well worth the extra weight. Really. 29 psi is the magic number. One pound per square inch for every inch of diameter. The fork looks lovely too.

  5. Chris February 19, 2009 at 7:30 pm #

    Damn 748g! That’s the same as my MK 2.4…I should order one of those when I get my Nanos

  6. Bill Martin February 20, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    And I bit the mail man this morning. I guess I will give them more respect. Thats why I haven’t found a ride yet lol! I have to be nice to the mail man …o/o

Leave a Reply

