Camp Lynda Day 3 And Bad News

26 Jan

Camp Lynda 2.0 day three was the driest day and would have been the longest day but I only lasted a few hours because..because..because I was tired OK.

After I turned around it got lonely real fast, at least the views didn’t suck. I didn’t have my GPS (it stopped working after my endo on day one) and I took a few wrong turns.  At one point I thought I was about to have a Deliverance moment when I heard someone on a harmonica.

img_24224

Some new campers and a few familiar.  Kurt and Chris.

img_2410 img_2411

Kenny and Dan?

img_2412 img_2413

Lynda and Dave C.  I think there were 6 or 7 Dave’s this year. New name for next year:  Camp Daves.

img_2416 img_2420

And Sonya.  Lynda may have to start watching her back.

img_2421

Thanks again to Dave and Lynda for a great camp and if you didn’t make it this year get it on your calendar for next year now. It’s not to be missed.

And now the bad news. No Gooseberry 100k.

New snow today after all the rain that hit over the weekend will make the trail conditions way too messy to be biking on Jem, Gould’s, Rim and may make it impossible to even bike the loop on the mesa. That is, if you could even drive up there.

I will re-schedule for a later date. Possibly late February or March. Stay tuned.

10 Responses to “Camp Lynda Day 3 And Bad News”

  1. Aaron January 27, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    Dude. So bummed about the bad news. I really expected you to control the weather a litte better. I’ve convinced my wife to approve this trip already, so there’s no way I’m passing it up. So if anyone else is heading down this weekend, let me know. You can find my email via my blog.

  2. brkeyes7 January 27, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    Aaron-Just about everything except the trails we were going to ride should be rideable.

  3. grannygear January 27, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    Brad….good talking to you on your way back on day 3. If I would have known you were going to get yourself lost, I would have volunteered for guide service! However, you may not be able to ride as slow as I do without falling over 🙂

    Good times.

    mtroy from So Cal

  4. Bill Martin January 27, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    And I saved everything to do the Gooseberry 🙂 No, just kidding. I am thinking I will not miss next years Camp Lynda. Shoot, if Dave can make it from Missoula, I can. What was I thinking? Hoping to see you in Montana for one of our bigg-uns. Like Rapeljie 24! Butte 100! 8 Hours of Labor! … Oh yea!

  5. Aaron January 27, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    Yeah, I figured I’d stick to the lower elevation trails. Fortunately San Jorge has a lot of those.

  6. slowerthensnot January 27, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    Well I’ll hit some Hurricane rim and slickrock swamp in honnor of the BB100k folks this weekend…

  7. Brian January 27, 2009 at 11:02 am #

    Damn, I was hoping 2 use this weekend’s ride as the maiden voyage 4 my new Pereira 29er rigid singlespeed, but I will not receive the bike until the first part of February. So this is actually a little like good news 4 me! I will just have 2 “shakedown” the bike until the rescheduled 100k date.

    Brian

  8. KanyonKris January 27, 2009 at 11:41 pm #

    Church Rocks was fine even on the 2 wettest days.

  9. Ronaldo January 28, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    Brad,

    What kind of rigid fork is that on your Pumpkin Pie Vassago?

    Just curious.

  10. brkeyes7 January 28, 2009 at 9:43 pm #

    Bill-I have the Butte 100 on calendar.

    KK-church is always good as long as its outdoors.

    Ronaldo-Waltworks brushed steel with a clear coat. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

