R.I.P

18 Sep

It’s with no small amount of sadness that I announce the passing of the Yotavan. A blown head gasket and transmission. A dear friend that was part of many adventures and many fond memories.

I’ve preserved the Yotavan in a cryogenic state until I can find someone in the future who is willing to work on it. I’ve called at least 10 different mechanics and they have all declined the job, “specialty vehicle“, they say. Well, duh!

Was there ever a more perfect bikemobile? Don’t think so.

12 Responses to “R.I.P”

  1. Bill Martin September 18, 2008 at 7:58 am #

    Sorry man. You should of never put Carbo Rocket in the tank as a additive.

  2. Bob September 18, 2008 at 8:23 am #

    Keating. I bet he could do it. He is resurrecting the Revolution van as I type.

  3. KanyonKris September 18, 2008 at 9:02 am #

    I’m sorry for your lose. My condolences in this time of grief.

    I’m sure Yota has gone to van heaven (not Van Halen) where it can roam mountain dirt roads and camp in meadows of wildflowers.

  4. cp56 September 19, 2008 at 5:05 am #

    hi.find some people who can work on your minivan.hope you find one!by the way,visit my blog sera675.wordpress.com hope you like it!

  5. BotchedExperiment September 19, 2008 at 7:31 am #

    Too bad. The biker’s deluxe is dead.

    I was seriously looking at getting a Yotavan or an AWD Previa, but the goofiness of their engine and transmission configuration led me to look at a Sienna instead.

  6. Garrett September 19, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    Head gasket is a labor issue, maybe check ebay for a used trans? My friend’s mom had one when I was a kid, they’re so ugly they’re cool.

  7. grinavale September 19, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    what ever is wrong with that thing do not get rid of it. you can get it fixed, it is to cool to try to replace.

  8. brkeyes7 September 19, 2008 at 7:32 pm #

    Bill-I only added it as a last resort but it was too late.

    Bob-Keating could do it but I cannot afford him.

    KK- It’s temporary. It’ll be resurrected.

    Botched-I bet I could it get it running again with a chainsaw engine. Have any leads?

    Grinavale-It’s a keeper. I plan on putting it up on blocks in the front yard til I can get it fixed.

  9. Rick S. September 20, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    Sounds like you need to turn it into a taco stand. It would look great downtown next to the shop.

  10. secret September 20, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    Forget the transmission just make it a single-speed.

  11. BotchedExperiment September 21, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    Yeah, I happen to have a good used chainsaw for sale. The only problem with it is I think some idiot used it to butcher a cow. The dang thing is all gummed up with meat and blood.

  12. mark September 22, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    “Forget the transmission just make it a single-speed.”

    ROTFL. Pure gold.

Leave a Reply

