SLC Bicycle

9 Sep

I’ve been struggling with a way to introduce SLC Bicycle, looking for an angle if you will. I decided that I’ve been over thinking it and just need to start writing.

Since we’ve been open for 8 weeks this isn’t really new news to anyone but in case you haven’t stopped by the shop here are some pics to get you up to speed quickly.

If you are scratching your head right now I must explain that I started working with Brent Hulme here at SLC Bicycle about 9 weeks ago in order to stop the mortgage industry from blackening my soul any further.

I’ve known Brent for probably 14 years or so and I don’t know anyone who lives, breathes, sleeps and eats bikes like Brent.

I’m still very loosely involved with mortgages and only cherry pick. If you are a cherry you can still call me.

Behold, the coolest building in downtown SLC that just happens to house the coolest bike shop in Salt Lake City. The upper two stories are studio apartments that are completely solar powered. I hear the average utility bill is $8 a month.

Our crew of illegal 12 year old ace mechanics, I fear for whoever buys that tandem.

Our loyal customers. Hey, what is Mark buying that makes him smile?

Some of our customers ride bikes like this and yes we have the parts to keep them going. Have I mentioned that I love being downtown?

Can anyone shed some light on the Ride Club? If you want to catch a glimpse of this seldom seen, super secret bike club we have a couple of their members at SLC Bicycle. One of them goes by the name Troy Michaud and has got to be one of the best bike mechanics in the biz and the other one goes by the name Brent and claims to be the owner of SLC Bicycle.I can’t get any info out of either of them. They have taken vows of silence, have secret handshakes and wear the ugliest jersey’s you’ve ever seen. And apparently they like to rodeo.

Thursday, Friday and Saturday is our Grand Opening. Come by and say hello and if you promise not to tell Brent I’ll let you take the Swobo Folsom out for a powerslide session.


7 Responses to “SLC Bicycle”

  1. mark September 9, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    You need to find some better looking customers.

  2. KanyonKris September 9, 2008 at 9:50 pm #

    Thanks for making it official and I hope working at SLC Bike lightens your soul.

    I’ll try to get up for the grand opening, it’s been years since I’ve done a pavement powerslide.

  3. Bill Martin September 10, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    Sweeeet! I am jealous! If I lived in SLC I would totally rent one of those apartments! I could get CarboRocket downstairs. Best wishes!

  4. Kendra September 10, 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    How lucky are you working in the bike industry and getting out of the mortgage business. I am envious.

  5. KDAY September 13, 2008 at 1:35 am #

    I had no idea you were involved with that shop. I ride past it nearly every day on my way to work. I’ve been meaning to stop by but now I have an even better reason.

  6. Dan_K September 26, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    OK, so I’m almost a month late here, shoot me.

    That said, holy crap that bike looks like fun! I want one! I’m a little concerned about the 2 size only thing, but damn… I think I just found the perfect winter commuter/beater/rain bike/townie. Well, I suppose you found it, but I just learned of it today. Am I really going to have to go to Boston just to see one of these in person? damnit…

  7. wunnspeed October 4, 2008 at 11:44 am #

    Looks like a good place for you to be. Now that the mortgage and money industry, in general, has gone down the tube, it seems that you probably made the right decision at exactly the right time. Good luck there.

Leave a Reply

