Leadville Flame Out

14 Aug

I’ve been drinking lots of Kool-Aid over the last few days and haven’t had time to cover my Leadville race. I’ve got lots to say about Kool-Aid and its effects on the body, mind and spirit and will post about that soon but first I need to catch up on some other things. I’ll start with Leadville.

I flamed out at mile 45 instead of mile 70 like I predicted. I went from feeling like a million dollars for the first 3 hours to feeling like a flaming sack of poo for the remaining 6 hours.

Last year 8:45, this year 9:21. I was a little disappointed but glad to have even made it. At mile 45 I bonked pretty good and never got my legs back. My race was over and I knew it. Thoughts of dropping out crossed my mind several times but the effort to get there was too great not to finish.

I blew out of town right after the race to get back to SLC and catch a plane the next morning. I missed seeing Bob finish and go to the hospital for an IV. Sorry, Bob.

Leadville isn’t about just racing 100 miles on your mountain bike but about slowing down and taking your time, hanging out with friends, making new friends and enjoying the slow pace of things as they unwind. You really need to experience it over several days. I did not do that this year and feel like I missed out on the best part of Leadville even though I was there.

But I’m stronger than I think I am and my well is deep. Next year will be different. Maybe gears and suspension. Well, at least a suspension fork. Yeah, rigid is dumb. I have to stop typing now my carpal tunnel is flaring up.

6 Responses to “Leadville Flame Out”

  1. slowerthensnot August 15, 2008 at 5:13 am #

    it was good to hang with yah for a bit!

    Have to hook up for slc epic soon!

  2. dug August 15, 2008 at 8:30 am #

    rigid is not dumb. i felt waaaay more beat up after white rim than after leadville. on the other hand, you hit stuff at a much higher speed than i do.

    yeah, 9:21, total failure. i would love to suck like you do.

  3. UltraRob August 15, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    I’m 35 lbs over race weight and spent 6 weeks training for Leadville. I knew I had a very long day in store. I had burning legs before the top of St. Kevins even though I was toward the back. I managed to crawl to the finish line in 11:21. That’s more than 3 hours slower than my best time but considering my shape I didn’t feel bad about it.

  4. Jonnie August 18, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    Who is this man that doesn’t ride for 3 weeks and takes off early to catch flights? I saw you across the barrier down at the crit this weekend but never made it over to your side to say hello. Hope things are going well with the new shop. I am hoping to make it down that way sooner than later.

    Jon James

  5. Misty August 20, 2008 at 9:14 am #

    Now I was told anyone that can do Leadville sub 10 hrs is a badass!

  6. Bob August 20, 2008 at 11:03 am #

    Next year, Dug and I will ride alongside you to help you break that 9-hour barrier.

Leave a Reply

