Park City Perfect 40

14 Jul

I turned the big 4-0 yesterday and to celebrate I signed Tasha and myself up for the Park City Perfect 10. It’s a 10 hour mountain bike race that follows a 7 mile loop in Deer Valley (time for a name change) with about 900 feet of climbing per lap and whoever does the most laps wins.

Here’s Troy Michaud from Maine in the ugliest jersey I’ve ever seen, ain’t it cool.  BTW, he can motor.  He came in 3rd overall even with 3 flats.  You heard it here first, remember the name.

Other than a flat tire on lap 5 and a broken pedal on lap 11 (turns out I can hike almost as fast as I can ride) the race went perfect for me. I lost the lead on lap 11 for about a half lap but got back and stayed there for the win.

The sportsman of the year award goes to Mick, who I just met at the start, he offered to sacrifice his race and give me his pedal when he passed me on the trail. He knew I was in the lead and just wanted to help, unbelievable! I declined but was really impressed with his attitude.

I definitely left everything on the mountain as I spent considerable time dry heaving after the race. As miserable as it was being curled up in the fetal position between bouts of heaving it was well worth it to know I gave everything and came out on top.

Dirt never felt so good.

I can’t think of a better way for a fortieth birthday to turn out.

Tasha hung in there and kept going the entire time in spite of multiple crashes and rode 50 miles of brutal single track. Way to go Tasha!

Congrats to team Holley for taking the co-ed duo win and Dave and Lynda for giving them some stiff competition. It was fun doing the last couple laps with the women’s overall winner, Jen Hanks and her significant other Shannon Bofelli who was just out riding support. Also, congrats to go Chucky and Woody for winning the men’s duo cat after Kenny and Tyson led most of the race on their single speeds.

The Vassago Jabberwocky continues to impress me with its versatility although, I think I may need to introduce a suspension fork into the mix as I’ve lost use of my right hand from that damn rigid fork. Any recommendations?

17 Responses to “Park City Perfect 40”

  1. Dave Harris July 14, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    Nice job old fart. Seriously, 40 is when things start to get good. The age related decline in VO2max puts a limit on the ability to blow yourself up.

    Manitou Minute 29er fork is working sweet on my SS 29er Siren – I’m just assuming you’re on a 29er SS? Platform is decent, once you get it dialed there’s no out of saddle bob and it’s plush enough. My hands are just fine today.

  2. Misty July 14, 2008 at 7:09 am #

    Happy Birthday and CONGRATS Brad! The dry heaving makes it all worth it!!!

  3. William July 14, 2008 at 7:22 am #

    I’m loving my Riba!

  4. William July 14, 2008 at 7:23 am #

    Not in the literal sense of course, I just enjoy riding with it a lot.

  5. Aaron July 14, 2008 at 7:31 am #

    Way to work us all over on your b-day. I hope I can ride as fast as you when I’m all old and wrinkled. Wait, I wish I could ride that fast now. Great job!

  6. KanyonKris July 14, 2008 at 9:14 am #

    You can’t be 40, because I’m in my 40s. And I used to be able to say to myself “All those guys are fast because they’re only 30-something”. There goes that excuse.

    Congrats on cranking out the laps to take 1st!

  7. IamMatt July 14, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    Happy belated b-day.

    As some one else stated it, I could only hope to be as fast as you at 40

    Way to hammer it out at the race.

  8. Mike W July 14, 2008 at 9:38 am #

    I rode my rigid single and I can barely walk today. I think you did twice as many laps as I did as well. You are my hero!

  9. brad mullen July 14, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    WTG old man! Looks like life begins at 4-0 for u. Congrats on a BIG win in a loaded field. That’s something!

  10. Grizzly Adam July 14, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    I have spent a birthday or two dry heaving. Way to go!

  11. Jo July 14, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    Happy B-day and congratulations on the big win. Way to go Tasha too, that is a lot of miles on a mountain bike. You two are amazing!

  12. Tony July 14, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    BK, you’re not human. I was pretty worked with about 7 to 8 laps in me on a geared bike with front suspension. The downhill section was not hard-tail friendly, to say the least. I frankly don’t know how you did it on a fully rigid bike.

  13. mark July 14, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    I like the Marzocchi Marathon 29er fork for bombproof durability, but not the lightest product on the market. Been eyeing the new Fox Float 29er as a lighter alternative. Never been impressed enough with anything from Rockshox or Manitou to even give it consideration.

  14. tibiker July 14, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    I loved my Reba, especially the remote lockout on the handlebar, but the Fox is a bit stiffer. Both are great shocks.

  15. KanyonKris July 15, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    With the added photos and having just read Fatty’s story all I can say is: Dude, there’s something wrong with you. 😉

  16. kenny July 15, 2008 at 12:24 pm #

    Nicely done Brad. I knew you must have been feeling bad when I had to finish your beer. I agree with Dave, my Minute fork felt great. Althought I’m sure 14 laps would hurt either way. Tell Tasha thanks for the party it was great.

  17. wunnspeed July 17, 2008 at 8:12 am #

    That guys jersey is awful.

    Fantastic job on the race and on your birthday. Happy belated birthday man! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

