Solitude State Championships

6 Jul

A fitting name for that race, Solitude. There was no battle with anyone other than myself, a solitary battle to finish. I wanted to quit at every switchback, every root and especially, every time I came through the start/finish area. I couldn’t care less what place I was in or who was in front of or behind me.

I kept telling myself, “if you can just get to that next section it’ll be ok to bail and it’s a great spot to head down to the finish.” I’d reach that next bail out spot and then tell myself I could make it to the next section. That scenario played itself out umpteen times and then magically, I finished. Bruised and battered I ended up 4th.

looks like I need to break out the “Beat Bob and Chris” duct tape.

BTW, Where’d the single speed class go? Ed called them to the start and nobody showed up. Zip. Nada. It made me kinda happy inside.

3 Responses to “Solitude State Championships”

  1. dug July 6, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    the singlespeed class went where it belongs–mixed in with the other classes. ride the bike you brung, no special treatment.

  2. KanyonKris July 7, 2008 at 3:52 pm #

    Sounds like it’s time for me to start racing single-speed. My precious blue ribbonses. 😉

  3. Misty July 9, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    Congrats on 4th Brad!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

