10:01

2 Jun

That’s what the stopwatch read when I looked down at it this afternoon. That is, right after I put myself back together after having my first ever head-on collision with another mountain biker. And by head on I mean not just bikes but foreheads and shoulders.

He was a little dazed and confused and I’m actually surprised he didn’t pass out as he was looking pretty wobbly. I guess that’s what he gets for colliding with my massive deltoid. I stopped long enough to make sure he was going to be OK, re-attach my brake lever, apologize (he was hurt not me although I blame him for the crash) and offer to douse him with water to snap him back to reality. I have the outline of his eye socket permanently pressed into my shoulder.

It felt like I was on my way to a record Clark’s TT. I had been punishing myself for over 10 minutes and even managed to get by two bikers and one hiker already and could feel the record within my reach. I was at the top with the finish practically in sight. I get nauseous thinking about trying it again.

I’ve tried 3 times now. I flatted once, too muddy the 2nd time and now the head-on collision. I guess there’s always next week.

On the bright side I posted a 3:27 on Jacob’s ladder and rode the new Ghost Falls trail. I predict that It will be even better than Clark’s. It’s all cut in and ridable albeit a little rough. Access is just to the left of the old Ghost Falls access off the upper Corner Canyon road.

11 Responses to “10:01”

  1. dug June 3, 2008 at 9:01 am #

    so where were you when the clock stopped at 10:01?

    3:27? cmon man, are you trying to kill me?

  2. UtRider June 3, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    Dang – even with a head-on collision your time up Clark’s is still faster than mine! Go hit it again today. The Clark’s TT blog won’t be complete until your name is on the results.

  3. Jonnie June 3, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    I must be on the same path you are…..literally and metaphorically……I was giving it hell on Saturday when I began feeling my rim bouncing off the trail. Ended up walking the upper half after all my stans escaped out my tire and I blew through two cartridges. Guess I better be extra careful around those blind corners……….

  4. KanyonKris June 3, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    When I saw your title, I assumed you’d just achieved the top time. Bummer man.

    How did this happen? Was the downhill guy going too fast to avoid you?

  5. brkeyes7 June 3, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    dug-at the top after you come out of the trees and after the last grunt you have to weave in and out of the scrub oak before the final straight away. It happened as I was coming around one of those corners. I could almost smell the finish line.

    We didn’t see each other until it was too late. But, I’m blaming him cause he was on the downhill and should have been paying better attention or ride with a bell.

  6. KanyonKris June 3, 2008 at 12:16 pm #

    Oh, man, that’s a heart breaker! You were within 20 yards of the finish, no maybe only 10. Would have been the top time. Crazy bad luck.

  7. VH1 June 3, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    It is unfair how fast you were riding after just attempting the Clark’s tt and running over some poor downhiller! The eye socket imprint did look cool next to the tat though!

  8. Rick S. June 3, 2008 at 4:08 pm #

    what a bummer. Sounds like you were flying and on track for the record. The first one to break 10 min should be able to have the trail named after them. I think we should approach Ken about having a sign made.

  9. Grizzly Adam June 4, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    So you just left the guy lying unconscious in the scrub?

  10. wunnspeed June 6, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    That’s fairly insane! If he were dead there’d be less chance of a suit and less paperwork. 🙂

  11. Tony June 8, 2008 at 6:33 pm #

    That was bound to happen my man. I’m sorry it was you though. Several times I’ve rounded a blind corner on Clark’s dizzy and blurry-eyed, just to hear the scratching sound of someone locking up their wheels trying to avoid me as I climb. To make matters worse, many of them are wearing ipods. Knuckleheads!

    I agree, there must be some caution signs on the downhill side of Clark’s warning riders of oncoming traffic.

    That’s why Jacob’s and Ghost Hollow are such sweet trails … no up hill traffic.

Leave a Reply

