ICUP #6 Stan Crane Memorial Race Report

30 May

I’ve been flying high for the last 36 hours. The rush that comes with winning a race is a mighty fine feeling to have. The rush that comes when you AND your significant other win at the same race, well, that is some sweet sweetness for sure. I wish it upon everybody.

Before the race I had duct taped the words or affirmations, if you will, “Beat Bob” along with “Win Susan” on the front and back of my jersey before the race The purpose was twofold, to hopefully, spur me on to dig deep for a good cause and to psyche out Bob. Why single out Bob with the duct tape message?

  1. He won the last the expert class race so, he was an appropriate target.
  2. I knew he’d enjoy the attention.
  3. I knew I’d enjoy the attention.
  4. I really wanted to beat him.
  5. I really just wanted to wear pink duct tape.

It worked.

The affirmations were just part of my winning strategy. Because I ride Clarks trail several times a week I felt like I had the home court advantage on the downhill. Also, the Vassago Jabber Wocky totally feels like an extension of my body, it handles so well that I’m pretty sure I could have done the downhill blindfolded . I knew If I could beat everyone to the top of the climb and hit the downwhill first then there was no way anybody was going to hang with me.

Yes, I was feeling “it”. “It” doesn’t come around often enough.

Chris Bingham tried very hard to foil my plan but my affirmations were just too powerful, he flatted just as we started the downhill and that was it. I didn’t see anyone for the rest of the race.

I had drained one water bottle on the first climb and got a little concerned as I lost my second water bottle on the first descent. Didn’t need it, didn’t need food, didn’t need anything. I was fueled by endorphins. I was so giddy by the time I crossed the finish line that I lost all decorum (yes, I had some, once) and was shouting,”I won! I won! I won!” and pumping my fists in the air and slobbering all over myself and anyone that got too close.

Great race and great friends. I’m pretty sure I enjoy hanging out with friends and meeting new people before and after the races more than the races themselves. Maybe.

18 Responses to “ICUP #6 Stan Crane Memorial Race Report”

  1. wunnspeed May 30, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    Hey Mr. Pink…. nice work and congratulations. Decorum is way, way overrated!

  2. sly May 30, 2008 at 10:09 am #

    ya those days are good. too bad you dont have a big ring.

  3. matt May 30, 2008 at 10:32 am #

    You certainly have the look of determination in the second picture. I was going to ask how the new ride is treating ya but the win tells me much of everything I needed to know. Congrats again!

  4. Aaron May 30, 2008 at 10:42 am #

    What in the world is Bob preparing to do in that picture?

    Congrats, Brad. You da man. I really wish someone would have caught your finish on tape.

  5. Jonnie May 30, 2008 at 10:48 am #

    Brad,

    Nice ride! The Jabber Wocky is living up to expectations. I am looking to add a 1 speed to the stable. I will have to check those out. Way to protect the homecourt advantage.

    Jon

  6. Lori May 30, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    I’m with Aaron – what is he doing all puckered up, that close to your chest?!?

    But, Yea!! – You won! You won! You won!

  7. fish May 30, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    Nice work, BK.

  8. dug May 30, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    i don’t think i’ve ever seen you so happy as when you rode by me on the finishing stretch (me finishing a lap and a half, you finishing two full laps).

    you were downright giddy. i admit, i got a little giddy with you.

  9. UtRider May 30, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    Sweet! Watch out though, Bob will probably be sporting some extra motivation taped to his jersey tomorrow…

  10. Rick S. May 30, 2008 at 2:59 pm #

    I think we were all just has happy for you since Clarks is your home court. Expect Vassago sales to jump!

  11. Daren May 30, 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    I’d break out the “Beat BK” tape tomorrow, but when I get dropped on the first climb it would look silly. Nice job on the win.

  12. Adam Lisonbee May 30, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Your finish was a classic moment. Well done.

  13. kenny May 31, 2008 at 6:30 am #

    Yeah Bro… nice job.

  14. BotchedExperiment May 31, 2008 at 7:15 am #

    *

  15. BotchedExperiment May 31, 2008 at 7:16 am #

    How did you and your wife win the same race? I may be confused, but I thought only ONE person could win a race. Did you guys tie? There are no ties in cycling.

  16. Forrest May 31, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    Very cool!

  17. Mike W June 1, 2008 at 7:09 pm #

    Brad and Tasha, great job on both of your wins! You guys are amazing!

  18. Dave Harris June 3, 2008 at 6:25 pm #

    Fine work, fun reading. Endorphins are your pen…

    Sharing a win with a SO is a special moment for sure. Enjoy the glow.

Leave a Reply

