Goodbye E 100

27 May

I’m sure many got the e-mail from Boris yesterday saying he couldn’t organize any of the E 100 events this year.

“I am taking a year off from organizing cycling events…This year I don¹t have the same energy, enthusiasm or mental strength to continue my personal challenge – creating and managing The E 100 races.”

I’m not entirely sure why he’s bowing out but I think that maybe Boris was a little too ambitious in trying to host 4 different endurance events all tied to the E 100. It not only diluted the events but I think in the end it wore out the promoter and the volunteers. it could be an opportunity for someone to step in and create a new classic Park City 100 mile mountain bike race.

One thing I am sure of is that I liked hurting myself at the couple of E 100 events that I participated in over the last few years and that I’ll miss not being to able to suffer at those events in the future. I won’t however, miss the Leadville priced entry fees. I don’t want or need cool schwag, pre and post race dinner or stocked aid stations but I expect that to be reflected in the entry fee. I’m such a whiner.

His e-mail made it sound like he was leaving the door open for someone to come in and take over the events. I hope that someone steps forward and continues some sort of Park City 100 mile mountain bike event. It’s too good of a venue to not have a 100 miler.

We all know the single track in Park City and Deer Valley is as good as it gets anywhere so all thats left is figuring out how to organize a big 100 miler party like Leadville or the Cascade Creampuff. Make it something that is the highlight of the mountain biking season for the participants, a race you would want to return to year after year no matter how far away you live.

11 Responses to “Goodbye E 100”

  1. Bob May 27, 2008 at 7:02 am #

    I liked the 12 hour race and so did the wife, although, thi race was good last year and this year it will be at DV, even better.

    http://www.parkcityperfect10.com/

  2. Andy H May 27, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    With this news the PCP10 should be huge this year which is awesome b/c it’s a benifit for the young riders and mountain trails. All profits going to cycling based non-profits makes the cheap entry fee even better.

  3. KanyonKris May 27, 2008 at 7:39 am #

    Who needs an organizer? Pick a date, rally some buddies and do the route yourself. Yes, there is something fun about these big events, but I’m lean away from them and more to smaller group rides.

  4. KanyonKris May 27, 2008 at 7:40 am #

    I was hoping to do Perfect 10 this year – it would be my first endurance event. But it’s the same day as STP and I’m already registered. The backup plan is the 12 hour Sundance thing.

  5. matt May 27, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    Bummer. This was one event I was thinking of doing this year.

  6. Adam Lisonbee May 27, 2008 at 2:54 pm #

    Brad.

    http://wasatchclassic.blogspot.com

    I think you will like the entry fee.

  7. brkeyes7 May 27, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    I’m doing the PC Perfect 10 for sure. Its on my birthday this year.

    Adam-I’m totally bummed I’m gonna miss the Wasatch Classic. I’ll be at Havasupai on a family vacation.

  8. Adam Lisonbee May 27, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    pfffft!

    I may see you at the PC10. And don’t worry, the Wasatch Classic will be back for 2009.

  9. BotchedExperiment May 28, 2008 at 7:58 am #

    Kanyon Kris, the problem with doing the E100 course unofficially is route finding. I’ve probably ridden that course 5 times, and there’s no way I could re-create it.

    I guess if some guys had GPS it’d work fine.

  10. KanyonKris May 29, 2008 at 10:32 am #

    Ah, I can see that would be a problem.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goodbye E 100 « Top Models Blog - May 28, 2008

    […] Goodbye E 100 Goodbye E 100 […]

Leave a Reply

