Beg, Borrow or Barter

21 May

I’ve decided theft is not a good thing for anybody so I’ve revised one of my resolutions for the year. Beg, borrow or steal becomes beg, borrow or barter. I’m getting pretty good at it maybe I’ll try for some groceries and gas next.

To that end I have a few mountain bike parts and pieces that I’d like to trade for a lightweight, disc compatible, tubeless (preferable) 29er wheelset for Tasha (her current rear wheel weighs 9 lbs, serious). I’m also willing to look at just a disc compatible rear hub (non-singlespeed).

What do you get for your goods? How about a very nice orange colored Walt Works 29er SS frame (24 inch effective TT and 18.75 in ST) with only 6 months of use. I also have a used pewter colored Chris King Classic (non-disc) hubset in fantastic shape. I’ll trade a hub for a hub or frame for wheelset or whatever we agree upon. I’m flexible.

Shoot me an e-mail at brad@gooseberrymesa.net if you have what I want and/or want what I have.

BTW, the Sundance race is canceled tonight. Bummer!

8 Responses to “Beg, Borrow or Barter”

  1. sly May 21, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    if you would set your wifes bike up properly with some sweet parts she could race pro. 9 pound rear wheel…. come on but thats just rude.

    i’ll give you a sweet lite 29er wheelset for the king hubs and the frame

  2. matt May 21, 2008 at 2:15 pm #

    How much for the frame?

  3. brkeyes7 May 21, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    sly-I’m workin on being a better husband. This is part of the plan.

    matt-Barter only. What you got?

  4. matt May 21, 2008 at 3:03 pm #

    nothing that will work in this situation.
    Good luck.

  5. Fish May 21, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    Maybe we can work something out for the rear hub. I’m looking at getting a matched set (long story) of King discs, but really need a front disc and rear standard. This would work out perfectly. It may take me a couple of weeks, but in the mean time I am perfectly willing to let your wife borrow (one of the trinity in your mantra) a King/Bonti 29er rear wheel until then.

    In a separate transaction, I’m hoping to borrow the 29er fork you got from Sabrosa Jon in the interim for my geek bike.

    We can get together over choripan and asado to discuss it. We still need to do that.

  6. brkeyes7 May 21, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    Fish-You’re speaking my language. Regardless of how the rear wheel plays out I’m happy to find a good home for the Sabrosa custom dork fork and I’m sure Jon would approve.

  7. KanyonKris May 21, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    Does this mean the Dork bike will be decommissioned (forkless)? I was looking forward to taking a spin on that bad boy.

  8. jruss May 22, 2008 at 6:41 am #

    pass along the dorkness.

Leave a Reply

