Corner Canyon Time Trials

14 May

Time Trials with an s.

I think Tony P. started the madness last year setting the start and finish points but Rick S. was the first to blog about it. Well, Clark’s Trail TT now has its own official website thanks to UtRider.

I couldn’t remember my time from last year but I’m pretty sure it was under 11 minutes. Looks like I need to give it another crack.

I don’t know if downhills are referred to as time trials or not but thats what I’m going with for Jacob’s Ladder.

At the top of Jacob’s Ladder there is a small island of weeds and rocks right where you start rolling the downhill. Start your time just as your front tire passes the western edge of the island. I built a little cairn there with a green rock but don’t know how long it will last. Stop your time as your front tire hits the wooden fence at the bottom before the trail spits you out on the upper Corner Canyon road.

3:45 is my time on the dork bike.

I’m expecting great things from Sleepy, Jamie P and dug.

Don’t forget that the Sundance/Soldier Hollow weekly series starts tonight and I’ll be there conducting a Bohemian/CarboRocket seminar.

12 Responses to “Corner Canyon Time Trials”

  1. Rick S. May 14, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    Brad-That’s one TT that I’m going to stay away from. I know my place with the core team when it comes to downhill. I’m middle of the pack guy. I will say that you seem to be extra fast on the dork bike going downhill. 3:45 might stick.

    I plan to race tonight. How is the course for SS?

  2. Adam May 14, 2008 at 9:02 am #

    Yesterday going up Crank (Orem BST off shoot) I decided that we needed to get into the TT scene. So I am going to organize a Crank TT site. Long live local time trial bragging rights!

  3. Adam May 14, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    OK, it’s up.

    http://ttcrank.blogspot.com/

  4. Adam May 14, 2008 at 9:21 am #

    http://ttcrank.blogspot.com/

  5. Adam May 14, 2008 at 11:42 am #

    Sorry for the double comment spam.

  6. dug May 14, 2008 at 12:00 pm #

    adam, i think that counts as a quadruple.

  7. KanyonKris May 14, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    I’ll give it a shot next time I’m up there. Every ladder needs a bottom rung.

  8. Daren May 14, 2008 at 4:09 pm #

    Brad,

    I’m a day late. I rolled Jacobs last night but didn’t start the clock. I’ll give it a try soon.

  9. Tony May 14, 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    I was in the pain cave for 10:55 on Clark’s last November 19th. I know between a few of us scrubs, that was the winning time last fall. Bk, I remember you were some 30+ seconds faster than that … anyway I didn’t pay much attention because there was no way I was going to match your time. Besides it’s too damn early to start a TT up Clark’s this year. Let’s enjoy the climb for a few months before we start hammering up it and posting times.

  10. BotchedExperiment May 14, 2008 at 9:19 pm #

    Blouuuuurrrrrrrrggghgghghghghgghhhhhhh.

    That’s me puking on Clark’s and posting a solid 20 minute time.

  11. dug May 16, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    i’m not doing the jacobs thing. i’m afraid. someone is going to die this summer.

  12. scott May 30, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    I was up there this morning on my rigid SS and thought I’d give the clock a try. I fumbled on a few sections and thought I didn’t have a chance to be under 5 minutes….so I was surprised when I got to the bottom and saw a 3:45 on my Suunto…..I guess the soil was tacky enough to hold some good speed through some of the turns to make up time. I’m now curious if I’d be any faster on my 6-7″ travel trailbike….

Leave a Reply

