Apostasy

9 May

As a member of The Church of The Blue Dome there are certain rules, or commandments if you will, that one is expected to obey. However, the Church allows each member to interpret the rules to a certain degree according to their circumstances.

I may have flexed my interpretation of the rules a bit. Some may even say I’m now an apostate. Maybe, maybe not. But probably not, it is my church after all.

One of the great things about religion, and mine is no different, is revision. Like all great religion’s founders I’m allowed to pretty much do as I may. So, I’m going to rewrite some of the rules to accomodate my current circumstances.

That being said, I am forsaking the Dork Bike. Blasphemous, I know. Allow me to ‘splain.

I’ve found some new truth that I was lacking. I’m merely adding this new truth to my existing truth to form a more perfect religion.

Beware the Vassago Jabberwocky:

Granted, not too dork. Other than breaking rule (commandment) # 3, Rim Brakes Only, I’m still keeping 7 of the original 8 commandments. That’s much better than most religion’s founders and besides I’ll be revising those rules as to comply with all of them soon enough.

Tasha has also been enlightened with more truth and will be riding a frumious Bandersnatch to church.

These new truths would never have been known without the aid of Misty and Kris at Vassago Cycles who saw that we were heading down the wrong trail and steered us back to the twisty and narrow. Thank you!

Not apostasy after all, thankfully, but a magnification of truth leading to a fullness of the gospel of The Church of The Blue Dome heretofore unknown.

Callooh! Callay!


17 Responses to “Apostasy”

  1. UtRider May 9, 2008 at 7:34 am #

    Will you be selling your Walt Works? πŸ™‚

  2. mark May 9, 2008 at 8:05 am #

    I can’t believe you’ve gone apostate like that.

    I thought about buying a Bandersnatch frame when I built up my Zion last year, but I was worried about the top tube being too long. Keep us posted on how you like that wet cat geometry and how it compares to the dork bike.

  3. KanyonKris May 9, 2008 at 8:25 am #

    Don’t kid yourself, you’re already on the slippery slope of apostasy. Sounds like Church of the Blue Dome 2.0 which means you’ll have the original believers calling themselves Fundamentalists. πŸ˜‰

    Looks like a nice ride. I’ll be looking forward to your review.

    Hmm, since I’ve never tasted the virtues of fully rigid SS, maybe I can borrow the Dork Bike for a few spins after your new rig arrives. Pretty please?

  4. Aaron May 9, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    I will ponder and pray about these words. At your current level of mountain biking righteousness, you’ll be translated to mountain biking heaven in no time.

    KanyonKris – actually the Fundamentalists are the members who still ride multiple dork bikes.

  5. brkeyes7 May 9, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    UTRider-Yes. I think it would fit you nicely.

    KK-You’re welcome to try the dork bike or the Walt Works. Both are rigid and single and you’ll want to ride your C-dale again. You’ve been warned.

    Aaron-Nice one!

  6. BotchedExperiment May 9, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    4 times I’ve said to my self and others, “I absolutely love this bike and I’m going to ride this bike until it’s powder. I won’t need to buy another bike for 10 years.”

    The longest “this” bike has lasted is 3 years…

  7. BotchedExperiment May 9, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    Of course, compared to [some others that we know] I’m a faithful lover to my bikes!

  8. dug May 9, 2008 at 11:19 am #

    they’re more guidelines than actual rules.

  9. Rob May 9, 2008 at 12:05 pm #

    Let me get this straight;

    You have your own religion – with followers
    You have set up a “compound” in the middle of the desert for your “followers” to come to in groups.
    You have developed your own “kool-aid” for people to drink (while at the “compound.”)

    Something about this feels uncomfortably familiar. But I hear and I will obey.

    Rob

  10. Rob May 9, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    btw – I did not mean for that smiley face to be there…it does that automatically.

  11. brkeyes7 May 9, 2008 at 12:51 pm #

    dug-Yes, rules, commandments, laws are all merely guidelines. I think I learned that from you.

    Rob-We have a meeting next week for new initiates, I’ll e-mail the password and address. Hopefully, dug won’t see that smiley face or you’re in trouble.

  12. Adam May 9, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    What happens when the federali show up at the compound?

  13. tibiker May 10, 2008 at 10:47 pm #

    You know, the Optimus ti is only a few bucks more. I’m just sayin’, whilst thou are sinning….

    BTW, I KNEW that something was brewing when I saw the Vassago ad a few days ago. Congrats!

  14. wunnspeed May 11, 2008 at 7:36 am #

    Wow… nice work! It’s good to be recognized for hard work. You guys deserve it. I’m jealous as hell.

    The only similar offer that I’ve received recently was from a US bike company that only makes DH bikes. They said that if I ever need anything to let them know. Hmmm… WTF would I do with that?

  15. Flahute May 11, 2008 at 4:10 pm #

    Is the Church of the Blue Dome any relation to the Church of the Big Ring?

  16. brkeyes7 May 12, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    Adam-Baptize ’em!

    Flahute-Different branches of the same tree, I believe.

  17. Flahute May 12, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    Sounds like my kind of church!

Leave a Reply

