5 Mile Pass Race Report

5 May

Neither Tasha nor I were too excited about racing 5 Mile Pass on Saturday. Tasha pre-rode it a few days before and proclaimed it a terrible race course. It didn’t help that she and Whitney got lost and did a hike-a-bike that was twice as long and steeper than the one they’d be hiking on Saturday.

I was questioning the wisdom of doing a long, notoriously brutal XC race only a week after the RAWROD spectacular.

Of course, we went anyway.

Tasha and Dot battled back and forth for the lead most of the race and then Tasha flatted and lost a chain. I think she did great still pulling off a 5th place finish after all that. I also take full responsibility for her bike problems. I should have known better than to Stans her wheel the day before a race. Dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb!

It’s amazing how calm and relaxed you can feel right before the start of a race when you have no expectations. I also had a good excuse already formulated if I did poorly.

We had a pretty good group show up which lowered my expectations even further.

I knew it would be a long day so I tried to sit in but I tend towards impatience (imagine that) and decided to jump out front. That worked for a little while until we hit some downhill sections. That would set the tone for the rest of the day. Other than Fred who put a good gap on me on the first long downhill I yoyo’ed back and forth with Bob for 2nd and 3rd position most of the race.

Bob finally dropped off (thankfully, as he was really putting the hurt on me) on the 3rd lap but then I had to contend with Chris Bingham and Glenn Adams. They kept getting by me on the downhills and I couldn’t gap them far enough on the climbs. I ended up 4th.

I’m pretty happy with how I did as the flatter courses, which I struggle with, are now behind me for the season and I can look forward to the steeper, climby courses that are more my cup of tea.

BTW, Whitney Pogue who finally moved to Sport class promised before the race that if she won she would move up to Expert. She won by over 13 minutes, how bout just jumping right to the Pro class?

10 Responses to “5 Mile Pass Race Report”

  1. Bob May 5, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    I didn’t just Drop off, i got sucked into the ‘black hole of backwards’

  2. dug May 5, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    whitney is a sandbagger. she can beat me if she’s on a spin bike and i’m on a real bike.

  3. Rick S. May 5, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    Brad- you scare me.
    Whit- you scare me.

  4. tibiker May 5, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Brad, Great idea to have her commit to move up if she won. The rest of us believe in her speed more than she does. I’ve been doing some of her intervals with her and she’s had me on the ropes occasionally on the climbs.

    Great race for everyone, Tasha for overcoming mechanicals and still taking fifth and for you for being able to kick some butt on a course like that on the SS.

  5. KanyonKris May 5, 2008 at 11:24 am #

    If Rick is scared, I should be mortified.

    Good picture of Tasha … putting the grrr in girl! 🙂

    And you rolling the Dork Bike.

    Saturday I played in “my backyard” – finally riding Crank.

    Good to see you and Tasha on Clarks Friday.

  6. Adam May 5, 2008 at 11:42 am #

    Nice seeing you out there, and nice meeting Tasha.

  7. wunnspeed May 6, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    Wow… great job you guys. I’m impressed with both of your finishes actually.

  8. brad mullen May 6, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    way to put the hammer down, and have fun doing it. i wish i had the guts (legs) to race my ss. very inspriational, you are.

  9. brkeyes7 May 7, 2008 at 7:16 am #

    Adam-Thanks again for the pics! I think you could give Zazoosh a run for their money. New career?

  10. whit May 7, 2008 at 2:52 pm #

    Dear conscience, I don’t believe sandbagger is a very nice way to talk about me! Who knew? It could have been a fluke….? BK…….. nice tactic to get me to honor my seemingly safe ‘bet’ made prior to the race last week! I am still considering retirement as a option!!

Leave a Reply

