Girly Ride

19 Apr

I went on a girly ride today. If anyone thinks that a girly ride is what I would call an “easy” ride they better think twice. I only refer to it as a girly ride because there were more girls than boys. 3:1 ratio and I was the 1.

As a matter of fact I would bet that the three girls I went with would place very high in a men’s category mountain bike race, possibly all on the podium.

Dot Verbrugge, Whitney Pogue, my wife Tasha and myself were planning on hitting the 5-mile pass course but the wind was so bad that we stayed in Corner Canyon. Nothing wrong with that. Corner Canyon in Draper could possibly have the best suburban trail network in the USA.

Dot nailing the water crossing.

Whitney sporting her “downhill” face.

Tasha having a good time.

Tasha busting the single track climb.

I think we did about 2.5-3 hours of mountain biking while everyone else stayed inside because it was too windy.

Most of the Corner Canyon trail network is open except Clark’s Trail.

To all the husbands that were out of town on a bike trip I must say that the biking was much better at home. See what you missed out on. That’s right, just me and the girls.

7 Responses to “Girly Ride”

  1. utrider April 19, 2008 at 9:38 pm #

    I did 2+ hours on the road this afternoon with my wife. The wind was INSANE, the worst I’ve had the pleasure to ride in, but we had a good time. The descent down Butterfield with a tailwind was the highlight for sure.

  2. tibiker April 19, 2008 at 11:25 pm #

    That Whitney chick is hot, I’d love to go out on a mtn bike ride with her sometime. Wonder if she’s married, if she is he’s a lucky dude.
    You are a lucky guy Brad, get to hang out with 3 hotties while I’m down in St Geo w/ a bunch of smelly guys.
    Glad you guys had a good time and everyone came home in one piece, thanks for looking after Whit while I was gone and thanks for the post. Makes me miss my wife even more seeing a picture of her having a blast on her bike.

  3. kenny April 21, 2008 at 8:03 am #

    That was real big of you to stay home an “take care” of the wives. Lookin forward to the B2B this weekend.
    YEEAAHH!

  4. Karl April 21, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    Brad, Thanks for taking the wives up. They need more of that together.
    I agree corner canyon is turning into a pretty good trail system. I keep finding new trails everytime I’m up there. I’d like to head on up there with you some time and we can compare rides to see if we’ve got all of them covered.

  5. Adam April 22, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    Every 3rd Thursday K.C. Holley will be hosting “Ride Like a Girl” rides. No boys allowed.

  6. brkeyes7 April 22, 2008 at 5:12 pm #

    I was their “bitch” as Whitney put it. It was fun.

    Adam-I think the girls were talking about hooking up with KC’s clinic. I want to go too.

  7. hSg August 16, 2008 at 10:59 pm #

    The view looks great, the trails also look good
    :-))

Leave a Reply

