Freakin’ Poddies!

18 Apr

Sleepy got me thinking about Ipods again. He likes ’em, I do not.

Actually, I love my Ipod. I love my Ipod at my house and in my car.

What I’m trying to say is that I don’t like the way people use their Ipods.

It’s a weekly occurrence for me. I’ll be riding up or down some nice trail somewhere and I’ll catch up to a poddie. They are completely oblivious to the fact that there is a rider behind them that would like to get by or that wants to be friendly and ask them a question like, “what the hell are you doing riding my trail with that stupid freaking Ipod?”

I try making loud noises but they can’t hear me. I squeal my brakes, I wack trees with my hand, pretty much everything short of buzzing their rear tire. I’d do that but I fell over the last time I tried that move.

It drives me crazy. I once followed a poddie all the way up Clark’s Trail and he didn’t notice me until we got to the very top. I then spat on him.

It even happens on wide fire roads and with non-bikers. Just a couple weeks ago I was climbing corner canyon and there were two runners ahead of me each wearing an Ipod (don’t these people have anything to talk about?) I finally just rode between them with my handlebars practically scraping their ribs.

Really, do we need one more thing to insulate us against everybody and everything around us? WTF?

When I ride in groups on the road or mountain I’m constantly repeating myself when I talk to someone because they have to take out their earbuds and say, “what?”

Maybe its just me. Maybe my friends only wear Ipods when I’m with them because they really don’t want to talk to me. I get it now dug and Rick, freakin’ poddies!

14 Responses to “Freakin’ Poddies!”

  1. eric April 18, 2008 at 7:06 pm #

    It’s a nice distraction especially after the first 100 feet I am last in the pack and alone. But for a rider like yourself with impressive riding skills, I can see how you hate “poddies”. From now on I will just make sure I am never out in front so I don’t have to worry about anyone getting annoyed with my slow pace. Maybe I should throw on a handlebar mirror too just to be safe.

  2. KanyonKris April 18, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    I agree, I don’t understand why people need to be plugged in everywhere do everything. I love to let me senses soak up everything on a ride – the smells, the wind, the sounds, the sights. They all get muted with music jammed in the ears. But maybe I’m just old and not able to mega-multi-task like the younguns.

    I do know that some people like up-tempo music to help them push the pace. Wouldn’t one earphone be good enough? Leave one ear out to be more aware.

    Good rant, amen brother!

  3. Matt April 18, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    I have ridden with with music at times. I honestly like the option to have it but not every time. I’m with Kris, I like to have the wind blowing in the ears and what not. When my music is going, I keep it down so hopefully I hear people coming.

  4. trio April 19, 2008 at 12:25 am #

    Great post! I agree completely. I might not often be faster than people on bikes but it is so annoying if you want to overtake someone on foot, you are shouting louder and louder and still they can’t hear you.

  5. kenny April 19, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    Sometimes there’s nothing better than when I’m out on a solo ride, the weather’s good, and I’m throwing the cranks around up my favorite trail listening to DJ Tiesto or some Linkin Park. It ads to my euphoria. Or when I want to go old school on a long easy ride with some Steely Dan, maybe some Elvis Costello. Yeah, Bro… I think you need to chill.

  6. Rick S. April 19, 2008 at 8:41 am #

    Go listen to eminem “Til I collapse” and then tell me what you think about riding with an ipod. Besides, when I ride with you, there is no way I can keep up.

  7. dug April 19, 2008 at 10:35 am #

    lighten up francis

  8. wunnspeed April 19, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    Guilty as charged… except for not noticing people as I don’t like loud music. It just helps me not focus on the pain. Now.. riding in a group and wearing an iPod is seriously dumb. Kind of like sunglasses in the Subway.

  9. KanyonKris April 19, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    I wonder, do most anti-poddies have children? Here’s my theory: I live with noise and commotion all the time, so when I’m out on the bike I relish the quiet and serenity.

  10. BotchedExperiment April 19, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    What? I didn’t hear you.

    I’d wear mine but for two problems:
    1) road: wind and traffic noise is so loud that I have to turn the volume up to 11. Noise cancelling earbuds are completely ineffective against wind noise.

    2) off-road: one of two things happens–I either completely forget I’m listening to music, or I get distracted and crash. Couple years ago I broke a log with my head while trying to figure out what James Hetfield meant when he was singing, “Kill, Kill, Kill, Kill, Kill, Kill, Kill, Kill, Kill, Kill” at the end of the song, “all within my hands.” He’s so deep man.

  11. brkeyes7 April 19, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    I must admit I’ve never so much as been outside my house with an Ipod. And I don’t plan on it. I’d prolly like it and I really enjoy hating on the poddies. So, no Ipod for me.

  12. Chris April 19, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    I don’t even own an ipod. I would totally crash if I was listening to music.

    Plus, I love the sound of the tires on the trail, wouldn’t want to miss that.

  13. Rio's Rider April 19, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    I for one would love to ride with my iPod. It would be seriously motivational to have Kiss’s “Heaven’s on Fire” blasting on a good, long climb. But I don’t ride with my iPod. It just seems dangerous. I need to know what’s going on around me. Can’t do that with the music blaring.

  14. AR Guide May 7, 2008 at 6:11 am #

    I love music, so therefore I thought I would really like riding with an Ipod. WRONG! I agree with all your points. Nice to hear what is going on around you, in my case it is often a rider wanting to pass me. I too relish the sound of the ride, the tires on the trail, the wind in the trees, and the occasional deer bouncing away through the brush.

    Just say “no” to poddies!

Leave a Reply

