Cholla Challenge Race Report

13 Apr

Epic…camping. We arrived at the race site about 8 pm on Friday night to what felt like 100 mph winds and people folding up their tent trailers and heading back to town to find a room. We grilled brats inside the Yotavan on the stove while the wind howled and the dust and sand coated everything. I went upstairs to the tent condo while Tasha and Cassidy slept inside the van. It felt and sounded like I was in a washing machine until about 12:30 am when it died down and I finally got some sleep.

Cassidy was the first to race and stacked it up pretty good on her 3rd lap in the 10-12 category but finished anyway with bloodied knees and elbows. She rocks!

Tasha thinks she finished in 5th but isn’t sure. She is however, sure that she enjoyed grilling brats in the van more than she liked the Cholla course.

I lined up in the Expert 40+ category with the singular goal of beating Bob Saffel zero expectations other than to finish.

Things went how they usually go for me which is to say I went out way too hard and blew up on the 2nd of 3 laps. I had notions of soloing to a win after finishing lap number 1 in first place but that quickly disappeared as I got passed by just about everyone on lap 2. I thought I was done, cooked, baked.

I hung my head and pedaled on feeling like I was completely alone out on the course. No one in sight in either direction. I got off my bike towards the end of lap 2 to pee and stretch out a hamstring that was hurting. Nobody anywhere.

I started feeling better on lap 3 and began catching people which was a great morale boost. Off in the distance towards the bottom of the last climb I thought I spied a Revolution jersey, a carrot, and thought it might be Bob which gave me another boost. I caught up to him and he said if I passed he was getting off to pee. Sensing his discomfort with his bladder I obliged.

36 miles, 2.5+ hours and 3rd place.

Some observatons:

The dork bike rules! Loved everything about it.  It motored on the climbs and felt like a full suspension bike on the downhills. Really.

One porta-potty just doesn’t cut it.

I’m pretty sure everyone was drinking CarboRocket.  It was everywhere.

UtRider Mark in real life is much taller than on his blog.

My nemesis Kenny Jones was MIA and I wasn’t sure how I would cope without that carrot. Turns out I had eight other carrots.

4 Responses to “Cholla Challenge Race Report”

  1. dug April 14, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    racing is hard

  2. Rick S. April 14, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    Brad- Nice one. If you could pee as fast as Dug, I’d bet you could have placed 2nd.

  3. eric April 15, 2008 at 7:11 am #

    I don’t understand why riders like to suffer. After crossing the start/finish line for the first time, I would have put my hands in the air like I had won the race.

  4. mtballday April 15, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    We all know the Dork bike is fast because it has a big engine.

Leave a Reply

