Cholla Challenge Revisited

8 Apr

I did this race a few years back and it was hot, long and miserable. I ran out of water just before the last of 3 laps and ended up snagging a bottle of some red stuff from Cris fox. I chugged it as I was parched and knew I wouldn’t finish without it but as the liquid hit my lips my stomach started to churn.

I finished the race but could barely drive back to my parents house in Washington. I spent the next few hours alternating between flailing around on the floor and hugging the toilet while puking GU and red stuff. Everyone had to leave the house, I am very noisy and I was making everyone nauseous.

Last year was also hot and miserable. Kendra, my 12 year old, also finished her race but got so dehydrated we had to take her to the emergency room for an I.V.

Why am I so looking forward to this race this weekend? Weatherman says it’ll be hot. It’s going to be long. I’m sure it will be miserable. I can’t wait.

It’s my first big mountain bike race of the year. Tasha and kids will be there racing and sharing in the misery. We’ll be camping and cooking brats on the fire at night and bacon and eggs in the morning. Lots of good friends will be there and I’ll be getting worked over on the dork bike. Yeah, I can’t wait.

11 Responses to “Cholla Challenge Revisited”

  1. tibiker April 8, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    Good luck, wish I was going. NOT! You’re going to kick some butt on that dork bike man, you’re fast no matter what you ride. Have fun and I expect a race report when you’re done.

  2. Forrest April 8, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    kick some butt!

  3. KanyonKris April 9, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    See you there. Jolene and I will be racing. I faded pretty bad in the last 4 miles last year – I’m hopeful I’ll finish strong this year. This year the race will be clockwise (normally it’s counter clockwise) – reports say it’s a bit harder and quite different. I’m not thrilled to see the forecast temperature creep up to high 80s – that 90+ degrees last year sapped me.

    That’s quite the compound you’ve got there in the photo. What’s with that jacked up tent? You sleep up there?

  4. sly April 9, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    it wasnt that hot last year, i only drank one bottle since they had no feedzone and the lady on the back side of the course gave away all the 1 jug of water they had to all the beginners on the first lap. brilliance!

  5. brkeyes7 April 9, 2008 at 9:17 am #

    sly-You’re a lizard.

  6. KanyonKris April 9, 2008 at 9:35 am #

    I checked some stuff from last year, sly’s right it was 88. I was hoping for cooler weather this year, but it looks like a repeat.

  7. Rick S. April 9, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    Let’s see Carbo Rocket place you on the podium. Ride fast.

  8. Bob April 9, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    So, gatorade upsets your tummy, But brats the night before and bacon and eggs the morning of a race do not.

    just weird.

  9. brkeyes7 April 10, 2008 at 7:03 am #

    Bob-It’s true. I’m just weird that way. BTW, cold brats leftover from the night before fit nicely in a jersey pocket and make great race snacks.

  10. Bob April 10, 2008 at 8:34 am #

    Well I crunch up pork rinds and mix them with Guinness and put it in my camelbak.

    Carbs, sodium, protein, everything you need.

  11. Adam April 10, 2008 at 11:35 am #

    88 feels like 102 after living in 30-40 degrees for 4 months.

Leave a Reply

