BK Simple Plan

31 Mar

BT Cruise Intervals. They sound like something the military is doing in the skies over Fallujah. I did a few of them the other day. Well, my interpretation of what they are. I have no idea what the BT or Cruise part of the workout mean but I do know Intervals = pain. I can do that.

As much as I hate the idea of having a training plan I know myself well enough to know that without a plan every ride becomes a race. With a plan I can practice restraint and have recovery days, which are always a good excuse if someone is riding faster than me. I hate all the numbers and data and such and really just like to ride my bike.

I used a heart rate monitor and coach last year (thanks Robert and JR) and it just happened to be my best season ever. Coincidence? Probably not but it did take some of the fun out of biking and I had to think. I bike to not think.

This year I’m on the BK Simple training plan. It’s one I can follow and not use a heart rate monitor and it doesn’t take a lot of data crunching and most importantly, doesn’t detract from any of the fun.

The Bk Simple plan is, well, simple. Get as much saddle time in as possible. I can’t emphasize that enough. I also use Training Peaks for workouts but I toss out all the jargon and acronyms. I don’t have time to learn a new language let alone any new math skills. I think everyone knows how to do an interval or a sprint.

Most cycling plans, including Training Peaks, have zones 1-5 with assigned heart rate or watts based on testing your threshold of something, tolerance for pain I think. Forget all that and if its a zone 1-2 day it’s an easy day and if it’s zone 4-5 it’s gonna hurt a lot that day. If you are supposed to be doing 100+ RPM’s pedal fast and if you are doing 50-60 RPM’s pedal slow. Simple!

Monthly and yearly plans available. Feel free to contact me should you need a consult.

13 Responses to “BK Simple Plan”

  1. Brad Mullen April 1, 2008 at 6:56 am #

    That just about sums it up. KISS… Good job.

  2. KanyonKris April 1, 2008 at 8:45 am #

    Bravo Brad – well said! I have a very similar view of training, but have struggled to put my finger on it. You nailed it.

    Whenever I encounter something new (like cycling training), I start digging to find the basic principles. You know, the fundamental concepts that form the foundation. After I get a grasp of the foundation I better understand all the refinements built on top of it. But if I start at the top I can’t make sense of it.

    Cycling training has so far been resistant to my digging. I’ve gleaned a few basic principles, but I still have several big question marks. So with an incomplete foundation I get instantly lost when people like Dave H. ramble on in 3-letter acronyms.

    As an engineer it bothers me that I haven’t been able to piece together the foundation of cycling training. But I’ve kind of given up because cycling for me is this: just ride. My training plan is: if I ride more and harder stuff I’ll get stronger. I’m sure it’s not optimal and I could make faster progress with a training plan. But I’d rather stick to the simple enjoyment of riding, and part of that is resisting the temptation to get too serious about cycling.

    One winter I did spinning pretty religiously and I started the Spring stronger than ever – and that was fun. I recently tried some intervals on the road, and it wasn’t bad. But I have to get in my joy rides. If cycling starts feeling like work, I get grumpy. I work at work, I ride for fun. So I do some training because I like the benefits, but mostly I just ride. I think I’ve found my happy balance point, but I’m always tweaking because cycling, like life, isn’t static – it’s always changing.

    Have I over-analyzed? Maybe I should have just said “ditto KISS”. Oh, well, I felt like going into some detail.

  3. dug April 1, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    wait, what? i don’t understand.

  4. botchedexperiment April 1, 2008 at 12:26 pm #

    Brad will be a shattered spectral waif by July.

    You know that part in Forest Gump, when Forest starts running, and just doesn’t stop? That’s how I see Brad…

  5. brkeyes7 April 1, 2008 at 2:51 pm #

    kk-I’m surprised you being an engineer and not being into watts and cadence and all the numbers. Good.

    dug-Your plan is this; Ride as much as you can. Simple. Got it?

    Botched-I’ve always wanted to be a shattered spectral waif. I’ll post some pics when I get there.

  6. Forrest April 1, 2008 at 4:49 pm #

    You had a trainer?? That seems so unlike you. Still have not been on the bike for a real ride yet, I will think about the bike when I get back from AK. You guys are going to hurt me real bad this year, but this is how I roll every year, snowboard all winter and spring, bike all summer and fall.

  7. brkeyes7 April 1, 2008 at 5:50 pm #

    Forrest-I’ve confessed to being a fraud and a cheat on this blog and now I’m confessing to having had a coach last year. Confession has made me whole again. Is there anything you would like to talk about?

  8. Bob April 1, 2008 at 6:57 pm #

    I like to have someone to tell me what to do. Wait are we talking a bout riding bikes?

    nevermind

  9. Forrest April 1, 2008 at 9:05 pm #

    Yes, I honestly have not ridden my bike since cross season except to go to Lone Star Taqueria and I kinda feel guilty. I was thinking about getting the bike set up for commuting but it just keeps snowing. I just got a real bad case of snowboard fever this year.

  10. tibiker April 1, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    The year that I trained w/ JR and was a total slave to the HR monitor. I also felt like it took a lot (alright most) of the fun out of riding.
    One day I asked a fast friend: “I’m training with JR and feel like I’m totally a slave to the HR monitor, you’re fast, what do you do to train?”

    The response: (As close as memory serves) “Ride 1-2 hard rides a week, one long ride a week and the other rides you ride easy and take some rest days. ” Pretty simple huh?

    Who gave that answer, yep, you guessed it. Brad Keyes.

    Whenever I’m doing Training Peaks workouts and I don’t want to do the detailed workout, but want some wiggle room, I remember that advice and just ride “in the ballpark” of what I’m supposed to do.

    I think your on to something BK.

    I concur that if you don’t have some sort of plan, you ride too hard. That was the surprising thing about having a coach/plan, that on the hard days you ride REALLY HARD, (which I expected) but on the easy days, you ride REALLY EASY. You can’t go hard every day and that’s the way I always rode before that epiphany. Every ride was a race.

  11. wunnspeed April 2, 2008 at 2:04 am #

    I hate all the numbers, etc. What I really don’t get outside of the Pros is dealing with Watts and all that crap. I definitely get where you’re coming from, I’m using as much of Dr. Michael J. Ross’s stuff as I can swallow. It seems to work quite well with minimum amounts of fuss. Oh.. forget about the whole diet change though. What do I do with the numbers I collect? I’m not really sure.

  12. jruss April 2, 2008 at 8:03 am #

    intervals = bmx. there is some heavy math for you.

  13. Jon April 3, 2008 at 9:41 am #

    So Jamie and Brad, now I need to know if you’re doing your hard rides or your recovery rides when we’re riding together. They all seem hard to me.

Leave a Reply

