Moab Rim Ride Report

23 Mar

Well, not THE official Rim Ride report as the official Rim Ride isn’t happening until next Saturday, let’s call it Kenny and Brad’s Rim Ride.

139829615.jpg Yotavan, the ultimate biking vehicle sorry, Ridgeline.

I’m a little disappointed in myself. I was really hoping to have an epic story to tell of suffering and near death. I full on expected to be curled up in the fetal position on the side of the trail at some point during the ride. Nothing like that happened. Kenny and I felt great all day and we didn’t even have as much as a flat tire. It was perfect.

139830030.jpg Potash Road 6:00 a.m. We started at bottom of Poison Spider.

To the uninitiated, which included myself until yesterday, the Rim Ride connects a bunch of the best rides in Moab together in one big ride. I think they connected in the following order; the Sovereign Trail, 7-mile canyon, Monitor & Merrimac, Gemini Bridges, Metal Masher(AKA Taint Trasher), Gold Bar Rim and Poison Spider Mesa.

139830198.jpg View from the Sovereign

Our mileage came in at just under 90 and ride time was just under 10 hours with total time on trail of 11:30. We got lost a couple times out on Sovereign and the Monitor Merrimac sections so I’m pretty sure our GPS tracks do not follow the exact route of the official Rim Ride.

139830742.jpg View from top of Metal Masher.

I can’t believe that I’ve been going to Moab several times a year for the last 15 years and never ridden Sovereign or Klondike Bluffs (we rode Klondike the night before). I think the Sovereign is the new go-to ride in Moab for me, loved it.

139830897.jpg Descending Metal Masher.

I found The Rim Ride unlike any other long distance mountain bike ride or race that I’ve done for a couple reasons. First, during most of the ride you can actually see where you’ve been and where you’re going. You get a sense of the enormity of it all not just physically but also visually which, I found to be a bit daunting at times. “Kenny, we were way over there and now we have to go way over there? Crap!” I’ve never experienced that before. Second, it’s far rougher and more technical than any other long ride I’ve done which made me very happy about my bike choice.

139831090.jpg Kenny climbing Gold Bar and still smiling after 8 hours in the saddle.

I must confess that I didn’t ride the dork bike. Kenny strongly suggested front suspension and after he nearly died last year doing the loop I thought I better listen. I dusted off the Walt Works and have to admit I was really glad to have suspension up front.

If you’re heading down next week have fun and if you happen to be riding a SS 29er might I suggest a 32×22. We also saw several areas along the route to filter water though no guarantee that water will be there next week. I’d share my GPS tracks with you but I think they would do more harm than good on the Sovereign and Monitor Merrimac sections.

I can’t wait to do it again. It’s definitely on the yearly calendar of must do rides.

11 Responses to “Moab Rim Ride Report”

  1. KanyonKris March 23, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    Sounds like the memories of this perfect ride will linger a long while. I enjoyed reading your report. I’m in awe of you MTB hardmen that can crank out that kind of difficult distance. Salute!

    I’ve been mountain biking about the same number of years and hadn’t done Klondike Bluffs until last year – it’s short but oh so sweet. The newish Baby Steps trail is a nice diversion, but I prefer the original trail.

    Did Sovereign 4-5 years ago and was impressed and entertained. I feel it will eventually rise to the stature of the other crown jewels of Moab.

  2. UtRider March 23, 2008 at 10:36 pm #

    Insane. My longest mtb ride is only 36ish miles… To do that distance, over such rugged and remote trails, on a SS is amazing. Nice work. If that’s what Carbo Rocket does for you put me down for a case!

  3. wunnspeed March 24, 2008 at 7:20 am #

    Ah… man, I’m so jealous of that ride. Sounds amazing. Let me know if you want the Pactimo contact info.

  4. kenny March 24, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    That’s my “hurts so good face”

  5. Rick S. March 24, 2008 at 9:08 am #

    I have a hard time believing that this didn’t turn into a race at some point. Who won?

  6. Brad Mullen March 24, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    You’ve inspired me – but I won’t be on a SS! I like the idea of starting at Poison Spider, from a daylight standpoint. Put me on your annual list for next year.

  7. seduzir March 24, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    Nice, very nice adventure!

  8. Dave Harris March 24, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    Nice, that sounds like a blast. I’d like to try that ride. Oh wait, it’s on the weekend schedule…

    How was the Rockin’ A bit? Got a reliable GPS track for it? Mr. Mullen has me nervous for that part. Should be fun in the dark. Utahmountainbiking has the gpx for Circle O and I think I know the rest.

    Way to ride. That WW looks infinitely nicer than that dork bike. What’s up with the dork bike anyway?

  9. kenny March 24, 2008 at 6:47 pm #

    Dave,
    I’m pretty sure we were on course from wipe out hill to the end. I’ll email you the track if you think it will help.

  10. brkeyes7 March 24, 2008 at 10:19 pm #

    KK-You can do more than you think you can.

    UtRider-If you have done 36 off-road you can do 72 easy. And yes, we were fueled by CarboRocket. Going live on Wednesday.

    Rick S-There wasn’t anyone else there to impress so, no race. Really.

    Brad Mullen-Good luck on Saturday. Watch for them blue flags.

    Dave-I bet its light before you get to Rockin A. Have fun. Cant wait for the report.

    Kenny-I shot him the GPS tracks and we totally missed Circle O and Rockin A

  11. Forrest March 25, 2008 at 6:47 am #

    Brad, glad to see you getting after it. My cycling season won’t start until May. Heading to Alaska soon for some heli boarding and then the Uintas will be accessed on snowmobiles into May for an extended snowboard season! My cycling season wont start until after that sometime. Thats how I roll, snowboard till I cant anymore, then bike like mad. Keep me posted on the yurt thing. My bikes still have flats on them right now.

Leave a Reply

