I’m So Weak

17 Mar

Usually, but not today. Today I was strong, so strong.

I went out on a road ride with the goal being to spin easily. I’ve actually got a few hard rides in lately and thought it would do me some good to take it easy today.

I was spinning along doing fine until this woman or girl, I couldn’t tell which as she was going too fast, went flying by me at warp speed on a tri-bike. I’m fine with a girl passing me and even fine that she was on a tri-bike. Really, it doesn’t bug me. At all. Seriously.

But, as she passed me she blurted out, “how you doin?” I was doing really fine until you blew past me like I was standing still thank you very much, I thought to myself.

Two thing happened at that very instant that prove I’m not as weak as I thought I was, at least not today anyways.

First, I bit my tongue and didn’t blurt out, “I’m just doing a recovery ride today.” which woulda made me seem like an idiot even though that is what I was thinking. Instead I said, “fine thanks, you?” Of course, she didn’t hear a word.

Second, I overcame the almost impossible to overcome urge to stand up, sprint by her and leave her in my dust. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have been able to catch her but that’s not the point.

The point is I was tempted and didn’t take the bait. My flesh ain’t ain’t so weak. I can walk proud. I am strong. I have self discipline.

8 Responses to “I’m So Weak”

  1. Dave Harris March 18, 2008 at 7:12 am #

    You got chirped!

    You wouldn’t believe how many times I’ve seen that happen 😉 You handled it better than most…

  2. botchedexperiment March 18, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    It’s official. You’re old. Testosterone is no longer making your decisions. Too bad; it was fun while it lasted.

  3. KanyonKris March 18, 2008 at 1:21 pm #

    So what’s the etiquette for road passing? Say nothing? I always feel a bit weird saying nothing, like I’m acting aloof, but I don’t really intend to start a conversation so maybe I should keep quiet. I usually just say hi.

    I admire your constraint, even though all males know what it took.

    botch: as usually you get right to the point in a humorous way – thanks for the laugh.

  4. tibiker March 18, 2008 at 2:52 pm #

    Hillarious Botched! How come restraint never happens when I’m trying to ride away from you Brad? Weakass.

    Seriously, I can never control that urge to put the hammer down in that situation, I’m the weak one I guess. Sure is fun chasing those carrots though.

    Did you frame your first $ earned from your Carbo Rocket yet? I’m stoked I could be the first to purchase some. Good stuff.

  5. brkeyes7 March 18, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    Dave-Chirped, eh? I like it. Never heard that one before.

    botched-I had just figured out how to spin my recent drop in testosterone levels and you drop in.

    KK-A simple Hello or Hi works just fine.

    tibiker-You make me weak. I’ve got some kiwi lime and passion fruit flavors that I need to have you test. Dump out the lemon and keep the lemon-lime.

  6. je March 18, 2008 at 9:55 pm #

    Rest assured, it will never be me flying past anyone — except my kids who refuse to let me take the training wheels off their little bikes — when I’m out there on my tri bike.

  7. Tony March 19, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    You’re a better man that I am Bk. Isn’t that funny the inner struggle we all have to validate ourselves to others … especially on bikes.

  8. Lynda March 20, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    How disappointing for her not to get a good chase. That’s like the old farm dog on the porch opening one eye and barking with its head still on the deck.

Leave a Reply

