Gooseberry Forrest

26 Feb

Forrest has never been to Gooseberry Mesa but that didn’t stop him from catching the Gooseberry sickness. He hooked me up with this monster aerial photo of the mesa. It must be 5 feet by 5 feet. It’s huge. I’m willing to bet it’s the largest aerial photo of Gooseberry Mesa in the world. Thanks, Forrest!

p1000011.jpg

Smack dab in the middle of the picture is my little piece of prime real estate. The Gooseberry peninsula, as I like to call it, where I will be spending a lot of time working and playing but mostly playing.

p1000016.jpg

Mr. Sabrosa, Jon Hanson, also caught the sickness and was nice enough to put together a site plan for the yurt project. Eventually there will be 4-5 yurts and a central gathering area with a fire pit and deck for hanging out post ride. I think a sweat lodge is in order as well. Thanks, Jon!

siteplan.jpg

Thanks to the help of Forrest and Jon I will be throwing a yurt raising party on the mesa sometime in March. Check back for details and go find your hammer and dust off your circular saw. Oh yeah, Kenny will be doing brats on homemade bread. Right, Kenny?

11 Responses to “Gooseberry Forrest”

  1. Forrest February 26, 2008 at 7:53 pm #

    Anytime, if you need more let me know. Maybe you could put up a smaller version of the plots in the yurts with the trails laid out on top of the photo. I can do this in Autocad. Let me know.

  2. Bob February 26, 2008 at 8:09 pm #

    i am so in, but i can’t hammer very well.

  3. UtRider February 26, 2008 at 9:28 pm #

    Oh man, if you can confirm the brats and fresh baked bread I’ll pretend to know how to use some tools just to get a piece of the food action!

    I did Gooseberry my second day on a mountain bike 2 years ago and absolutely hated it. I really need to go back now that I kinda know how to ride… 🙂

  4. JZ February 26, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    Not related to your sweet Gooseberry project, but I think the women in 35+ Open Category are going to be complaining about you sandbagging.

    https://www.sportsbaseonline.com/Registrants.aspx?item_id=2019

  5. brkeyes7 February 27, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    JZ-I go where the competition is. Have you heard the trash talking in that class?

  6. JP February 27, 2008 at 8:02 am #

    Is this an open invitation?…I’ll bring two hammers.

  7. KanyonKris February 27, 2008 at 8:57 am #

    Have tools (and bike), will travel (to Gooseberry).

  8. jruss February 27, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    BKeyes – I am glad that I could help out. Let me know if anymore detail is needed.

    Forrest – I met a friend of yours, Sid from Aero-Graphics, down here at a APWA (enginerd) conference. We got talking about bikes, which led to talking about single speeds and your name came up. Small world.

  9. kp February 27, 2008 at 5:54 pm #

    A bike is a tool right?

  10. kenny February 28, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    As long as there’s some fresh brews, there will be brats and bread.

  11. sly February 29, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    did you lose 10 pounds yet

Leave a Reply

