Back To Reality

19 Feb

It’s harsh. Coming home after being gone for 10 days isn’t easy. The consequence of only one bike ride in 2 weeks and gorging myself on great food hit home this morning when I stepped on the scale. 8 pounds! 8 pounds gained in only 10 days. The first ICUP race of the season is only 2 weeks away and I’m feeling fat and slow.

A few biking related things have happened while I’ve been gone. I got into the Leadville Trail 100. This will be Leadville race number 5. If I had to race it today I predict I would pull off a 10:30 finish time. I’ve got 7 months to knock 2 hours off of that time. That’s my goal 8:30 unless of course someone talks me into riding it just for fun and not racing. I could easily be swayed right now and that would sure make my summer a lot easier.

image001.jpg

Vintage Brianhead Epic 100 shot of Elden & Kenny. Don’t they look cute in their matching kit? And so young.

Elden thinks he’s going to do the Brianhead Epic stage race. Which means I’ll have to do it as well to avoid the name calling and public humiliation if I try to weasel out of it. I could probably handle the name calling if it was just Elden but it looks like Rick S. and Kenny will be there as well and there’s nothing worse than not being part of the post ride story telling. Dug, you in?

Action items for now: Lose 8 pounds in the next 10 days. I think its doable. If I can gain 8 in 10 days why not lose it in 10 days?. Re-arrange summer calendar to accommodate the Brianhead Epic.

12 Responses to “Back To Reality”

  1. botchedexperiment February 19, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    dude, 8 pounds in 10 days; no problem.

    The guys riding the TDF burn like 7000 calories a day. A pound of fat is only 3500 calories. All you need to do is eat nothing for 4 days and ride at a world-class pace for about 8 hours a day. Pfffft. Easy.

    Glad I could help.

  2. dug February 19, 2008 at 1:53 pm #

    hey, ride leadville for fun with me. 8:30 is stupid.

    i’ll see what i can do about brian head if you ride leadville with me.

  3. brkeyes7 February 19, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    botched-I barely made it out of college algebra. Help me with the numbers. How many calories per day did I consume to gain 8 pounds in 10 days? Assume no physical activity.

  4. je February 19, 2008 at 8:41 pm #

    you crazt mountain biking kids.

    i’ll stick to the road races where I can finish DFL but still find my way home.

    that said, i’d love to try a leadville someday.

  5. KanyonKris February 19, 2008 at 11:55 pm #

    Glad you made it back safe and, well maybe 8 lbs heavier isn’t completely sound. 😉

    I think you guys are nuts for even being interested in the Brian Head stage race, but then you guys are all more hardcore than me so what do I know.

  6. Amy February 20, 2008 at 8:34 am #

    Seriously? I was bite-for-bite with you in Vietnam AND I’m a woman, and I LOST 2 pounds…something’s fishy. It must’ve been all those beers before 10:30 am!

  7. kenny February 20, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    great picture, brad. stay fat and slow. it takes the pressure off me.

  8. brkeyes7 February 20, 2008 at 9:42 am #

    je-mountain biking’s where itz at!

    Amy-you mean beer:30 which, curiously, rolled around every hour on the hour.

  9. Forrest February 20, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    Still have not touched the bike, my goal is to stay off it as long as the boarding is good. If the winter ends like it started, that means my first ride is end of April or early May. I am going to be real slow this summer. How is the yurt thing going?

  10. UltraRob February 20, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    I think I’d struggle just to finish Leadville right now. I’m nearly 40 pounds heavier than when I set my PR there. My goal is to still break 9 hours but I have my work cut out. I could easily gain 8 pounds in 10 days but somehow it would take 2 months to get rid of it.

  11. Eric Moody February 21, 2008 at 7:30 pm #

    Brad,
    I just saw your comment on Brad Mullen’s site. I run the altitude training center in Sandy. I can definitely help you get rid of that 8 lbs! (altitude simulation increases metabolism – one of many benefits) Shoot me an email at: erichmoody@gmail.com or eric@io-usa.com and I can go over pricing with you and work out a program around your biggest races of the year. You can find some more info on us here: http://www.io-usa.com/home or my blog: http://www.altitudetraining.blogspot.com

    On a side note: I once lost 7 lbs just riding the mirror lake highway from Park City to the top and back. 166 in the morning and 159 when I got home! It was early May and I had a lazy spring and wanted to punish myself. Probably gained 5 of it back that night at dinner. 8 lbs in 10 days should be easy.

  12. Rick S. February 22, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    brad,

    I’m with you. I just spent 3 days in a conference for work. I did nothing but sit and eat and watch PPT presentations the entire time. I’m afraid to weigh myself.

Leave a Reply

