Final Thoughts And Parting Shots

18 Feb

If there is one thing, turns out there are a bazillion, you should do if you plan on visiting Vietnam I’d have to say you AFL (abso……lutely) must visit the Vietnam War Remnants museum. I couldn’t bring myself to take any pictures. The horrors of war were on display and I made the mistake of having breakfast beforehand.

Nothing could have prepared me for the sobering experience of seeing the Vietnam war through the eyes of the Vietnamese. It totally caught me off guard and I had to stop several times to regain my composure. I don’t completely understand the politics behind the Vietnam war but the suffering and cruelty I saw spoke volumes about the evils of war.

I have the distinct feeling I will return to Vietnam sooner than later. I’ll be forever grateful to Jeff for inviting me tag along for the ride and for introducing me to Paul from Paul’s Kids. Everywhere we went in HCMC someone had a smile and a hug for Paul and of course he reciprocated in kind. I was touring the city with a celebrity and it was always apparent the impact Paul has had on the people of Vietnam.

 

Some of my favorite pictures from Vietnam. Cute kids.

img_2116.jpg

Have a scooter:

p1000704.jpg

Paddling around the Mekong.

p1000460.jpg

The beasts of burden.

p1000642.jpg

 

 

8 Responses to “Final Thoughts And Parting Shots”

  1. duckingforks February 18, 2008 at 8:29 am #

    Great blog, just found it, great photos and stories!

    The War Remnants Museum is really full on and most are stunned when they enter. But I think it’s something everyone should see, just a pity we don’t learn from our mistakes!

    Cheers,

    Adam

  2. Forrest February 18, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    Wow Brad! Be careful you sound like you have an open mind about life, war and peace. Before long they are going to call you a commi sympathizer and tap your phones. Good for you!

  3. Forrest February 18, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    Also rent the “Fog of War”. It won an oscar for best documentary. Its a documentary about Robert McNamara (Sec of Def during vietnam). Its very insightful and in his own words. Let me know what you think about it.

  4. Brad Mullen February 18, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    What an incredible journey. Thanks for sharing it with us. Any chance you’ll open up Gooseberry to those peddie carts? Maybe you can do tours. That’s be a sight for the cameras.

  5. Paul Pinkerton February 19, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    Hi Brad
    Just a quick note to thank you for being a part of my life for 10 in Vietnam. Your interest in what we do and the people of Vietnam made our time together special.
    A side note to your readers; The little girl with the tear on her cheek [Nguyen Thanh Phuong] had open heart surgery on Mon. Feb 18. She was the 5th child to receive this life saving surgery since Dec. 2007 through the generous contributions to paulskids. She is in recovery and expected to recover and have a long and healthy life. If any of your readers are interested in helping to save lives of children please check out paulskids,org
    Thanks again Brad for all your kind words and fun times in Vietnam. Hope to see you soon.
    Paul

  6. brkeyes7 February 19, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    Paul-Thanks for the update on Phuong and I’ll definitely see you again in Vietnam hopefully, with my family in tow.

  7. wunnspeed February 22, 2008 at 2:26 am #

    We were also just in Vietnam. What amazing people who seem to not care where you come from or what the past dealt them. My wife and I were both so very impressed with the Vietnamese people. Glad you enjoyed it to.

  8. jody March 3, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    Wow, what photos and impressions you give of Vietnam. Sounds like you embraced every minute of it! Lots of opportunity to help others; feels like a different world from ours.

Leave a Reply

