I’m Huge

9 Feb

In Vietnam anyway.  I never have to worry about getting lost in the crowd here.

p1000223.jpg

We spent the afternoon visiting Go Vap, one of the orphanages here in HCMC.  Can you believe this cute little girl is an orphan?  I can’t.

 p1000153.jpg

Don’t you just want to pick her up and squeeze her? I did so, I did.  Far from being the depressing place I had imagined the orphanage to be it was actually pretty upbeat.  Most of the kids there were busy just being kids.  Yelling and smiling and stealing my sunglasses and camera and wiping their snotty noses on me.  I think they were mostly just thrilled to interact with someone other than the workers in the orphanage.  The number one thing these kids need is human contact.  To be picked up and hugged does more good than just about anything else. 

One of the action items being discussed on this trip is how to impelement a program where people can visit Vietnam with discounted airfares and hotel stays to make it affordable and spend half a day every day for a week or more interacting with the kids.  A hug goes a very long way.

There were some pretty extreme cases of kids with encephalitis that absolutely took my breath away and made me stumble. I wondered how it’s even possible with todays medicine that these kids can be suffering like they do.  Needless to say I didn’t last very long at all in that room.  I couldn’t bring myself to take any pictures either.  Its was too hard to deal with the reality of it all.

So, on a brighter note here are some shots of an incredibly beautiful city with great food, very polite people and lots of things to see and do.

View from stairwell in my hotel:

p1000131.jpg

Veiw from the Rex Hotel of downtown HCMC:

p1000095.jpg

Crazy man on the drums:

p1000107.jpg

I finally got out on a bike ride today and what a bike ride it was.  More on that later.

4 Responses to “I’m Huge”

  1. Rick S. February 9, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    wow, weird to see you in vietnam. Keep up the cool work.

  2. Forrest February 9, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    My family wants you to give those kids hugs from us.

  3. KanyonKris February 9, 2008 at 10:13 pm #

    Are you still glad you took the red pill? It sounds like you’re enjoying seeing more of the real world in contrast to the Matrix you came from.

    I have great respect for Paul and what he’s doing.

    I’m looking forward to your bike report. I’ll bet the bike you rode fulfilled your dork dream. 🙂

  4. Mike W February 11, 2008 at 9:16 am #

    Good post!! Vietnam sure seems like a cool place to visit.

Leave a Reply

