Ho Chi Minh City

8 Feb

I really, really wanted to ride a bike around the city.  I’m scared.  It Turns out I barely dare cross the street on foot.  A sea of scooters some with as many as 6 people on board.  Entire families busting around the city on scooters designed for one person.  Its scary just to watch let alone participate.

Complete and utter insanity.  I’ve been to a lot of big cities in Central and South America as well as most of the big ones in Europe and I’ve never seen anything like this.

p1000228.jpg

The weird thing is that if you want to cross the street you just step off the curb and go.  Paul from Paul’s Kids showed me around HCMC (that’s what you call Saigon if you’re hip) yesterday and the first time he stepped into traffic I lunged for his collar to save him from certain death.  Come to find out that’s how you cross the street here.  The scooters and cars just flow around you like its no big deal.  It’s a Zen thing I’m told and it helps to be buddhist.  Nobody yells at anyone or gets upset about getting cut-off.

I’m definitely not used to it yet so I make sure to keep Paul between myself and the oncoming traffic.  I’m into self-preservation.  Maybe I’lll give the bike a go in a day or two. 

3 Responses to “Ho Chi Minh City”

  1. KanyonKris February 8, 2008 at 12:49 pm #

    Wild.

    Don’t get scootered.

  2. dug February 8, 2008 at 1:07 pm #

    you are livin the dream, man. post every day.

  3. jamie p February 8, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    Yeah, we’re living vicariously through you, keep postin’

Leave a Reply

