Frozen Hog Race Report

2 Feb

I wasn’t going to go but I got out of bed this morning and thought if I didn’t go I’d just sit around the house all morning drinking coffee and eating waffles. Tempting, I know.

I went and had a good time. I decided I needed to go and help Racers Cycle Service defend the team trophy which they have had for the last several years. I didn’t help. We came in 2nd in the team category.

teamtrophy.jpg

Yards from the finish line and just yards ahead of Racer.
mnracer.jpg

The aftermath. I think this picture says it all. Racing in January hurts, I’m fighting to keep the vomit down as I was on the verge of hurl.

aftermath.jpg

I’m not sure who gave Elden the microphone but he ran with it and raffled off a bike for the Lance Armstrong Foundation.

raffelbike.jpg

The first lap was great I only endoed once. You could actually ride the downhill section. By the 2nd lap the course was so chopped up from all the traffic that I ended up running the entire downhill section.

Thinking about riding my bike in the snow and the cold never sounds appealing but it’s always a good time.

Here’s a few random pics.

eldenfinish.jpgfallingover.jpgkenny.jpgkenny2.jpgp1000058.jpgme.jpgme2.jpgnewteamwinners.jpgracerribbon.jpgstevew.jpgweirdbike.jpgp1000067.jpgp1000057.jpgp1000066.jpgkennyelden1.jpg

9 Responses to “Frozen Hog Race Report”

  1. KanyonKris February 3, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    Good report. I know you’re a good rider, but I was pleasantly surprised to see you rolling in . You rode strong – good job!

  2. susancyclist February 3, 2008 at 12:33 pm #

    Good report. & you beat Fatty to it. Who won the bike?

  3. KanyonKris February 3, 2008 at 1:04 pm #

    Dan Hutchins, a race volunteer, won the bike.

  4. KanyonKris February 3, 2008 at 9:41 pm #

    Oops, small typo – it’s Dan Hutchings.

  5. KanyonKris February 3, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    I just realized, Brad said this is the year he gets his dork on. Well check this out:

    BraDORKeyes

    Just coincidence? 😉

    Hey, have a good time in Vietnam!

  6. Forrest February 4, 2008 at 10:58 am #

    Man, I have not ridden my bike since a cross race in November.

  7. brkeyes7 February 4, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    Kris-Thanks for the picture links.

    Susan-Thanks for stopping by.

    Forrest-First ICUP is in 3.5 weeks. I’m sure you’ll be just fine.

  8. Forrest February 4, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    3.5 weeks??????? I aint racing until July, heck I will be boarding until then anyway.

Leave a Reply

