Vietnam with Grimdog

30 Jan

Longtime friend and one time fellow Webelo, Jeff Grimshaw, invited me to visit Vietnam with him next week. I just got my visa a couple days ago without any problems so Vietnam apparently doesn’t have a very high bar for who they let into their country.

dsc01970.jpg

I have no idea what to expect or what we’ll be doing while there. I’m guessing I’ll be cleaning toilets or something like that. Jeff founded a non-profit organization in Vietnam called Paul’s Kids that helps orphans in Vietnam with medical care, education and quality of life. I will be doing some work there (cleaning toilets) for part of the time and then I’ll be working off my comped airfare in one of the male brothels the rest of the time.

Jeff and I grew up together in Dogtown, Utah. He was always smarter than all of our parents and teachers and that got us into plenty of trouble. He’s also an avid cyclist so you know he’s good guy. He even shares the view with me that, while we like Floyd Landis and think he’d be cool to party with, he’s surely a doper. Jeff likes him a little more than me since Jeff now hales from Pennsylvania. Here he is with Floyd. Jeff claims to work in organizational behavior, sure you do, mafioso!

floyd.jpg

Seriously, check out Paul’s Kids if you are shopping for a charitable organization that does a world of good. They have an easy PayPal donor system set up and a dollar goes a very long way in Vietnam.

I plan on riding a bike everyday while in Ho Chi Minh City. To and from wherever we may be going. Ill be taking my GPS so I don’t get lost and I’ll probably just buy a bike over there and then leave it with someone when I come home. I hope I don’t get run over.

Anybody know anything about biking in Vietnam or have any tips they want to share?

11 Responses to “Vietnam with Grimdog”

  1. KanyonKris January 30, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    Sounds like an adventure (even the toilet cleaning)! How long will you be over there? I like how you sprinkled the post with funny little jabs and references – I enjoyed it.

  2. Carmell Hergert January 30, 2008 at 10:02 am #

    I am headed to Ho Chi Minh City for the first time on business. I am also goin to take a trip down Halong Bay while I’m there. I don’t know what to expect either. I hope someone can give us some tips.

  3. Forrest January 30, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    My good friend spent a month in Nam and came back with Dengue Fever. Wear the bugspray all the time. Live in that stuff. Besides that have a wonderful time. I need to get overseas more!

  4. botchedexperiment January 30, 2008 at 1:01 pm #

    My stepfather went to vietnam and came back with a paranoid aversion to food that is too old and several gunshot wounds. I suggest you be careful.

  5. Nazrat January 30, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    It’s amazing that Americans still think of Vietnam as in those war movies. If you like more input, head over to http://www.lonelyplanet.com for great advice from fellow travelers. For more visual, head over to youtube and search for vietnam, hanoi, saigon. The country is dynamic, always moving forward, beautiful, friendly and hospitable. You should have a great time over there.

  6. brkeyes7 January 30, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Nazrat-Thanks for the info, after reading Forrest’s and botched’s comments I was beginning to worry.

  7. Bob January 30, 2008 at 11:17 pm #

    I went to smiths Saturday afternoon and got a Fever, a fever for the flavor of a pringles. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6akuBVjs5YQ

    uh, sorry, wrong topic.

  8. botchedexperiment January 31, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    Well, my information may be slightly outdated. I think my source was there in 1968. Things might have changed since then, I don’t know.

  9. KanyonKris January 31, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    I’ll have your T-shirt ready for your return:

    I went to Vietnam and all I got was this lousy T-shirt … and Dengue Fever

    How long will you be there?

  10. Forrest January 31, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    My story is true though, just last year he visited his mother on the Mekong Delta. However my other friend got Dengue in Costa Rica this summer too. Wearing bug spray overseas is never a bad idea!

  11. brkeyes7 February 1, 2008 at 6:26 am #

    KK-10 days

    Forrest-Keep your friends away from me. Dengue magnets!

Leave a Reply

